We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary dinner.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
900 Marina Village Circle, Cape Charles, VA 23310
757 331 8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Aqua offers waterfront fine dining featuring local produce and seafood overlooking the Chesapeake Bay. Aqua’s dining room provides sunset views unmatched anywhere else on the east coast. Lounge and bar open past kitchen hours.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful anniversary dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The panko flounder was perfect, but the Thai shrimp appetizer was something really unique. And the view is tremendous! An exceptional wine list as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    65
    26
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Place to End Your Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

When our group inquired about a nice restaurant for dinner, the owner of our rental house recommended that we eat at Acqua which is located in Bay Creek Resort in Cape Charles, VA. We reserved a table in time to see the sunset while we were drinking some excellent Chardonnay (steel barrels) from the Chatham Vineyard (a local winery) and eating an excellent artichoke crabmeat dip. Our waiter, Cody, was excellent and made recommendations regarding the food. There were 4 of us and each person chose a different seafood entree (crab, mahi/mahi, seafood stew, and salmon). Everyone was pleased with the food, the views over the water, the ambiance and most of all our waiter. Cody even recommended a place where we could eat lunch the next day. I usually put prices in my review but I was a guest and didn't see the final bill. However, the prices on the menu were in line with the quality of the food presented. I definitely would eat here again. And, we found Cape Charles to be a delightful vacation spot with geniune friendliness from the shopkeepers and restaurant owners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the Chesapeake Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Aqua has one of the best views of the Chesapeake Bay (looking west toward the sunset) that I've ever seen. It's worth it just to go near sunset, order an app and a glass of wine and sit at the high top tables to look out over the water!

The Thai Shrimp app is terrific -- I ordered it instead of an entree after our table had shared fried green tomatoes (with black-eyed pea salad), a special for the night, and crab "lollipops" (mini crab balls with a mango salsa). The wine list is really good and the wine by the glass is generous and priced well.

Our table had the shrimp with grits (yummy), bouillabassie (very good) and scallops in Smithfield ham and cream sauce. We shared, as always, and everyone agreed that the food was really good. The service was a little slow, but there was a wedding on the lawn outside the restaurant and we really didn't care, given the view!

The more formal dining room looks lovely and the table in the glass-walled wine room would be fun for a small gathering. The bar, with a TV, doesn't overwhelm and the comfy leather chair seating area would be an inviting place to sit and talk in cool weather.

The location in the up-scale new "Victorian" villa community (large homes, colored with bright pastels) along the shore is a bit jarring --quite a change from the quaint eastern shore towns we're used to. "Downtown" Cape Charles has a few shops and galleries that look worth exploring and next time, we will check them out. The public beach on the bay looks lovely -- we loved the fact that many "locals" use golf carts to get around!

As we explore towns along Route 13, Cape Charles is definitely worth a visit! And driving across the Bay Bridge/Tunnel is always a treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appetizers were excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Appetizers were very tasty, eye appealing and worth the money! Entrees were blah no flavor at all! Desserts were delicious ! Explained to the waitress the entrees had no flavor at all! Nothing but I'm sorry I will let the chef know??? Customer satisfaction???

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had dinner for 6 while admiring a spectacular sunset over the bay. We found menu to be extensive and creative. We were especially pleased with healthy choices, somewhat unusual for this area of the country where fried fish rules. Salads and main courses were large enough to share. I especially loved the fresh fig salad with goat cheese.

Service was prompt and friendly, the manager came to check on us which is always a sign of a great place.

If you want to admire the sunset, ask for one of the high tables by the window. You sit on bar stools, but it's worth the view. The main dinning room is a bit dark and dated. There are also some small tables outside, but it was too hot and humid to be comfortable out there, even in the evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.