We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stuffed Flounder with crab on the Eastern Shore of VA.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sting-Ray's Restaurant

Sting-Ray's Restaurant
26507 Lankford Hwy, Cape Charles, VA 23310-5603
757-331-1541
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Cape Charles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Stuffed Flounder with crab on the Eastern Shore of VA.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

StingRays does not look like much from the exterior, just the road side gas station with a immense parking lot and always full of cars, trucks and boats on trailers,.

This is the first hint that something good is happening inside.

Service is a cross between home ( mom ) and local dinner style, you may catch heck
for not cleaning you plate. But the flounder stuffed with crab meat plate will always be cleaned to the very last flake if not taken home is a carry out box.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    49
    67
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, De
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We ate at Sting Rays a couple of years ago after roadfood.com had done an article on their fried chicken. I checked reviews prior to leaving home and found remarks they had changed owners. We arrived at Cape Charles in time for lunch, however, when requesting fried chicken, they advised it would take 15 minutes. Actually took over 1/2 hour, however, the meal was still very good and reasonable priced. Not the same as a couple of years ago but time goes on and prices go up.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, MD
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I wanted to at least enjoy Sting-Ray's because of it's rave reviews, friends' recommendations, appearance in Southern Living. You order your food at the counter and it is brought out to you. The service was surly and rude. When our food was brought out to us, I ask for some more water and was told to go back up to the counter, we asked for the condiments we requested when we ordered (tartar, cocktail sauce) and received a grunt. They were finally brought out when we were almost finished our mediocre meal. I had the clam chowder, "not a New England chowder, not a Manhattan, an Eastern Shore chowder." It should have been called Boiled Potatoes with Broth and a Touch of Canned Minced Clams." So, so bad and dull. The crab cake and more filling than crab, the fried fish plate: not so bad, our daughter's grilled cheese? Generic, as expected, but her Beef Vegetable Soup was a salty mess and tasted canned. Overall, a horrible $30 lunch that I left still being hungry. I'll stick with the Exmore Diner a few miles up the road when traveling on the Eastern Shore of VA.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We ate there on a recommendation. Being that it was near the shore we thought that their seafood must be good - wrong! We are from New England..so we know good seafood. My daughter had crabcakes, and they were mostly filler..she didn't finish her meal. My husband had the fried scallops...and we are almost 100% certain it was skate. They certainly didn't taste like all the scallops we've ever eaten in New England. My daughter who works in a high end seafood restaurant in Virginia also agreed they weren't scallops. I ordered the BBQ sandwich which was fine.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montre
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs renovations but the food is good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were not sure to stop due to bad reviews on Tripadvisor. Yes the place needs renovations (new paint on the walls, new floor, tables and chairs), it old and not very welcoming at first. But don't let that get to you. We've ordered fried oysters, crab cakes and marinated grill shrimps. The fried oysters were very good, tender and melting in our mouths, all the other plates were good. When we were getting out of the restaurant area around 6:30 - 7:00, there was a line-up of people waiting to take seats to eat. For me that's usually a good sign that food is good.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sting-Ray's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sting-Ray's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sting-Ray's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.