We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles to your Saves list
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   403 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My fiance and I arrived to a genuine, warm welcome and enjoyed an overnight stay that left us refreshed and rejuvinated. Tammy and Jim are gracious and knowledgeable hosts who have created an inviting home full of luxurious details. We will certainly be back to experience true Southern hospitality at Bay Haven!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
72
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friends and I were greeted with open arms and wonderful scents of baked bread! The accommodations were clean and comfortable! No detail was overlooked. We enjoyed walking to the local shops and finding treasures. Thank you for such a wonderful weekend...it was great to getaway, but next time we're staying for TWO nights!

Room Tip: There are three rooms and all are lovely. One of our friends slept on a rollaway and was comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy H, Owner at Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Laura,
It was so nice to meet you as part of the wild and wonderful girls weekend! And we were especially excited to share some of the hidden treasures of the town with you all like Drizzles, who would think you would find such a variety of oils and vinegars to sample? The hard part is deciding which to take home! Your just a short distance away...come on back for two nights...more time to shop and to enjoy some time to relax too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our girls' overnighter was absolutely perfect! Tammy and Jim are just wonderful people and their Bay Haven Inn is gorgeous. This was my first trip to Cape Charles, but it won't be my last.
Thanks you two for putting up with the seven of us, and the laughter the filled the house through the early morning hours. Fabulous hospitality!
And Sunday mornings breakfast including the speciality house coffee....was amazing, beautiful presentation. It was so nice to be "taken care of."
Next time we'll visit the spa, and explore the beach more.
Until next time...

Room Tip: Each room is unique and features special touches, but if you're wanting to feel "girly"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy H, Owner at Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Patty, I think the walls of the Bay Haven Inn are still ringing with laughter from your girls weekend! What a wonderful thing to be a part of...a house full of 7 women ( 8 including me, poor Jim!) oh if the walls could talk! You all were a delight and truly left us with our cheeks hurting from so many smiles and laughter! Hope you are enjoying your Bay Haven Inn personalized blend of locally roasted coffee, ready for some more?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quantico, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I got to experience the Bay Haven Inn with a friend who had invited her girfriiends from Virginia Beach. It was the perfect place for a group of girls to spend the weekend. After a shopping drip downtown and walk along the beach, we retreated to cocktails on the huge wrap around porch. Everything about the Bay Haven Inn is welcoming and our hostess even brought us blankets to enjoy the last few minutes of daylight. The rooms are beautifully decorating and every detail is included from chocolates by your bedside to fluffy robes when you step out of the shower. And the breakfast was divine! They really make you feel at home and welcomed and I could have stayed all week! Thanks Tammy and Jim for making our stay so fun. Cathy Bassett

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the beautiful rooms to the exquisite gardens...the fabulous Southern hospitality to the delicious food...there is so much attention to detail at the Bay Haven Inn. And without question, all of those details add up to a top-notch experience for the guest. I stayed in the James Wilson Room and would highly recommend it to others. It is a gorgeous and spacious room with a great view of the community park. The bedding is heavenly and I really enjoyed having my own bathroom. I felt very comfortable relaxing in the common areas of the house, as well as on the front wrap-around porch. The innkeepers, Tammy and Jim, are clearly committed to making your stay as relaxing and as memorable as possible. They also know a great deal about Cape Charles and the Eastern Shore and are willing to help you make the most of your time in the area. Cape Charles, VA is a wonderful place to visit (great shops, excellent resturants, and the nicest people) and the Bay Haven Inn is a terrific place to call home when visiting the area. By far, my stay at the Bay Haven Inn has been the best B&B experience I have had to date. I will most definitely return often!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong at the Bay Haven Inn. All of the guest rooms are gorgeous with private bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy H, Owner at Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you Stephanie! We are so happy you had a pleasant visit at the Bay Haven Inn and look forward to your return visit. It is guests like you that are the reason we got into this business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Lovely B&B full of charm and beautiful antiques. Tammy was a gracious host --- very attentive and helpful. Both Tammy and Jim made us feel right at home. The breakfast was wonderful...especially the coffee!!! We would highly recommend the Bay Haven Inn...definitely one of the best!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy H, Owner at Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
It was such a joy to meet you Mary Lee and Michael! Sitting by the fire visiting like old friends was MY highlight of your visit! So glad you enjoyed our Bay Haven Inn personalized coffee brew. Our local friends at Eastern Shore Roasting Company guided us in developing our own blend which was a real treat! In fact, she just brought bags by for us to sell it to our customers! So upon your next visit you can take some home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were not quite lost, and I had been unwell for a few days. Now we were driving through a strange land at night, with no accommodation booked or in sight... A chance turn off the main road led us to this B&B, and we stopped outside hoping they might have a room, anything, as long as it was warm and clean. As it turned out we were Jim and Tammy's first guests, they were opening the next day! And the rooms were nothing short of spectacular. But most importantly, the friendly hosts were more than helpful, they really took interest in their guests, and made us feel instantly at home and relaxed. The food is excellent, and Jim's European-style coffee on request hit the mark. This B&B was a real life-saver, and we'll be making Cape Charles a regular stop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles

Address: 403 Tazewell Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, rejuvenate and restore while taking a step back in time. Without a stop light in sight, take in the breathtaking backdrop where nature, beach, country and history meet in the historic town of Cape Charles along Virginia’s Eastern Shore. Calm bay breezes and the glow of glorious sunsets await you at this 1906 "haven" an escape from the hustle & bustle of the world. Exceptional service and a restorative atmosphere are served up daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.