We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Homemade Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Ice Cream

Brown Dog Ice Cream
203 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Pennsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great creative flavors and great basic flavors...there was a smaller selection, but def something for everyone!! we all left very happy. You can taste the quality and care in the ice cream. Definitely a must visit!!! We will most definitely revisit when we are close again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cape Charles Ice Cream Experiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We really enjoyed the old storefront and small town experience at the Brown Dog. Ice cream was outstanding and we enjoyed the interaction with the locals and tourists. A very family friendly merchant in local setting. highly recommended to anyone who visits Cape Charles and the Eastern Shore of Virginia.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Fantastic homemade ice cream with some very interesting flavors, a must visit (2+ times) when in Cape Charles.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Love good homemade ice cream and was very excited to try this place after reading the glowing reviews. No doubt it was good, but I've been to a number of paces that are better. Suggest readers try Gelati Celesti in Richmond or Chitter Chats in Reedville, VA.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The shop is very quaint and comfortable. The ice cream is unique and delicious. My family absolutely loved our visit and will be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.