We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice Cream That Melts Your Stress Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Ice Cream

Brown Dog Ice Cream
203 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Cape Charles, Virginia
1 review
“Ice Cream That Melts Your Stress Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I live in Cape Charles but every trip to the Brown Dog makes you feel like you are on a summer vacation! Yes, as all the other reviewers attest, the ice cream is simply divine...but the setting is so quintessential small town Mayberry and compliments the wonderful ice cream. All your beliefs of what a small town ice cream shop on a hot summer day come alive here, laughing kids, smiling parents and cute dogs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Love the full flavor put into each daily flavor. Stopped in on a whim while visiting the area... Best decision made. Adorable atmosphere and the staff was so wonderfully personable and pleasant. The Poncho Verde & the roasted coffee ice cream. Nothing more I can say on these flavors than pure genius and amazingly Delish! Cannot wait to go back and try another flavor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love "monkey business" ice cream !!! A must visit. I wish they were open longer. Count on a long line.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I scream you bark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was disappointed at the lack of ice cream flavors for an ice cream shop. However, its hard to talk bad about a place that makes 2 huge, and fresh, waffles and throws ice cream in the middle. And we got to meet the owner... Brown Dog himself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Be Careful! You Might Not Be Able To Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brown Dog has the best ice cream I have ever had in the continental United States! It's also the most affordable that we've found in a while (about $7 for two big waffle cones full of delicious goodness!).

The rum raisin, in particular, is DANGEROUS (in a good way, of course!)! Also, when we stopped in they had a very unique avocado, jalapeno and strawberry ice cream that was surprisingly good! You have GOT to stop here at least once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.