We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Ice Cream

Brown Dog Ice Cream
203 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I love "monkey business" ice cream !!! A must visit. I wish they were open longer. Count on a long line.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    23
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I scream you bark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was disappointed at the lack of ice cream flavors for an ice cream shop. However, its hard to talk bad about a place that makes 2 huge, and fresh, waffles and throws ice cream in the middle. And we got to meet the owner... Brown Dog himself!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Be Careful! You Might Not Be Able To Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Brown Dog has the best ice cream I have ever had in the continental United States! It's also the most affordable that we've found in a while (about $7 for two big waffle cones full of delicious goodness!).

The rum raisin, in particular, is DANGEROUS (in a good way, of course!)! Also, when we stopped in they had a very unique avocado, jalapeno and strawberry ice cream that was surprisingly good! You have GOT to stop here at least once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home Made Ice Cream! Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the real thing. The ice cream is fantastic. New flavors all the time. A must visit in Cape Charles. Simply the Best!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Charles, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best ice cream in VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

You cannot go wrong at the Brown Dog. My grandchildren and their parents make this a required stop at least twice a week when they visit. We take all our visitors here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Dog Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.