We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets & More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shanty

The Shanty
33 Marina Rd., Cape Charles, VA
757-695-3853
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cape Charles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sunsets & More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Shanty is the water hole we've been waiting for in Cape Charles. There are other great options (we're spoiled really) but the Shanty nailed the summer time fun vibe & allowed us to feel like a water town a little bit more.
Located literally on the water in the middle of an exceptionally renovated & expanded Town Harbor, the Shanty is cool and casual, and delivers on the food as well. The ownership is steadfast in its dedication to local seafood (notable exception - lobster specials) and the whole crew is great.
It's the perfect place to wind down after a nice Paddleboarding Cruise around the harbor or a walk around town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    79
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
No where, Midwest
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dockside seafood and sunsets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Locals suggested this new food find ok maybe its more a bar but families are welcome. We choose to sit outside overlooking the docks as we sat and watched the sun set and the fishing boats go out. We ate the best clam chowder ever! Then we shared a seafood platter (actually a medium size pizza tray) of deep fried soft shell crab, clams, oysters, crabcake, hush puppies and fish. It was great. Waitstaff were friendly, even took our picture for us overlooking the dock and sunset. it was a great experiance and we really enjoyed it. Not fancy, no need to dress up, do take a jacket and sit outside on the picnic table, order a great beer and enjoy the night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good local dive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great views. Saw an awesome sunset in to the water. Might have been the most uncomfortable chairs I ever sat in. We were in a picnic type table that was bolted to the floor. Food is above average. Definitely has a local's bar flavor. Lunch outside would be cool. I would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wouldn't try it again for a long time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We gave it a shot - heard the clam chowder was good. And it was. We actually really enjoyed the chowder. The calamari was fresh - but it was piled high as soon as it was cooked and all the coating fell off. The marinara dipping sauce wasn't very good either. I definitely wouldn't order the calamari again. I got the 1/2 lb steamed shrimp with a side of corn on the cob and hushpuppies. They gave a ton of hush puppies - they were pretty good. The corn was really tasty and fresh and grilled. The shrimp was very tiny - and extremely oversteamed. This shouldn't be the case - how hard is it to set a timer and steam shrimp properly? My husband got the soft shell crab BLT and he said it was pretty good. He has had his share of soft shell crabs before, but never with bacon and bacon makes everything better in our opinon! The fries that came with the BLT were cold. Again, this shouldn't happen. The place was DEAD. It was a rainy, Sunday night. I'd hate to see what sort of issues they have on really crowded, summer nights. It looks like a nice outdoor seating area, and inside had limited tables and yes, it was loud in there. We had good service, she was attentive and refilled drinks quickly, etc. the place is nice and it IS roomier in there than a lot of the other places in Cape Charles.

Someone beside us got a nice looking, but very thin, chocolate layer cake. I would've given it a shot, but opted for a caramel sundae at McDonald's instead. I know thats worth the $1.29!

The menu IS limited - maybe it will expand, maybe not. We visit this area several times a year and I probably wouldn't try this again for a while. Maybe next summer when its nice out and we can sit outside and make the view and atmosphere part of the experience. I'd definitely go back to Aqua, or Kelly's Pub before I ventured back to The Shanty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Shanty - New edition to the charm of Cape Charles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon our return to the quaint charm that is Cape Charles we quickly found the Shanty - new since our last visit a year ago and it became our daily stop after a day at the beach. Enjoyed the conversation with the locals and the bartenders. Good chowder. Loved the Shantini. Great sunsets each night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shanty also viewed

 

Been to The Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.