We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Spot for the Whole Family or a Couple ~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cape Charles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cape Charles
Save
You added Hotel Cape Charles to your Saves list
235 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Special Spot for the Whole Family or a Couple ~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A very special place to stay in a very special town, Cape Charles is a fabulous family destination. The atmosphere at Hotel Cape Charles is warm and friendly with a sophisticated flair ~ the loft rooms are exquisitely comfortable with an amazing bed and bedding, as well as architectural character and furnishings that bring you to zen when you walk into the room. We had a blast as a family of 4 and my husband and I plan to get back as a couple. Just one visit and you'll add this to your frequent destinations list too!

Room Tip: Call early and get a room where your dog can stay too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We loved meeting you guys and we surely do love our many Richmond-area guests - some weekends we're almost 50% Richmonders in Cape Charles, we think! If only we had ferry service to Cape Charles from Tappahannock, we could make that 100% - maybe one day! Thanks for coming and enjoying the grand small-town holiday week with us; the staff had (almost) as much fun as you guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
38
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Hotel Cape Charles is the perfect beach getaway. Cape Charles is a friendly and quaint beach town with plenty to do and the Hotel Cape Charles is the perfect place to stay while you're there. Just steps away from the beach, the hotel is modern, clean and welcoming. The staff was terrific, including the friendly dog who serves as the greeting committee. We stayed there with our two girls and it was just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We thank you kindly for your review - it was one heck of a Fourth of July weekend this year! We were happy to host and get to know y'all a bit, and we look forward to seeing you again (and Roxie the dog does too!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A great hotel in a very cool town. Wonderful and highly recommended. Ned and Anna and staff are fabulous. The sophistication may seem a bit anachronistic for quaint Cape Charles, but this quality hotel has been the lynchpin for this this delightful historic town's revitalization. A real destination spot. Immaculate, convenient, hip, warm staff, and super dog-friendly. We live in northern NJ but have a second home only 45 minutes away in Va Beach. Thought we come over often for day trip and could easily drive there and back, we can't wait for our next stay. The bedding and decor are first rate, only peeve were the kinda lumpy pillows. Cape Charles is a special place, a throw-back to a simpler time. I do a lot of walking in town and on the beach, every person I have encountered has said hello or waved. Lots of rest rooms and the locals are interesting and nice.

So great to have such a well-managed, quality hotel befitting the legacy and potential of Cape Charles!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words! We do hope that our expansion this year has helped to stimulate business in Cape Charles, where merchants really do value each visitor individually, as we do. And we hope to maintain the small-town spirit even as we contemplate adding a few more rooms (and cafe!) in the future. We are still small enough that parking is free and abundant, even on July 4, and we remind ourselves how lucky we are in this regard. For pillows - we do offer alternatives to our standard pillows, which are CozyPure hypoallergenic pillows (lumpy by nature, as they contain only organic components, no chemicals or synthetic materials). We'll be sure to remember to give you some alternatives next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wonderful stay with beautiful rooms, pleasant staff, great coastal town. We were just 'passing through' and needed a place for one night. Now we wish we had planned a longer stay! Remodeled rooms with lots of quality appointments and a VERY comfortable bed. Highly recommend this place. Plus, quality light breakfast. Wow!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
So very kind of you guys to call us "a find" - after so many decades of difficulty in this tiny town, with the loss of passenger rail service and ferry service - we appreciate your praise more than you can know. Come see us on the way back and tell us stories of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Recently had the chance to enjoy the Hotel Cape Charles, and many of the rooms it has to offer. Large family event, with a completely mixed crowd, including folks who were couples, with their kids, solo, older and younger, and everyone found something to their liking. We were all in and out of many rooms, visiting, laughing, exploring. Great public spaces, outdoor seating areas, and indoor conversation spots. Beds, pillows, and linens were just right, easy to jump under and hard to leave in the morning. Staff was so welcoming, helpful and fun. By the end of our visit, they knew almost everyone by name, directing us to where folks were, things to do, and always appeared genuinely interested in what we thought of various spots where we ate or visited in the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a calm, relaxing, clean, uncluttered, hip but comfy atmosphere, whether alone, as a couple, or in a group of 12 or so. Would be a great spot for smaller, corporate/professional leadership team gatherings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are speechless! This review really captures everything we aspire to be here - easy and welcoming and comfortable. We hardly know what to say but Thank You: it lifts our spirits to think that our work hosting is appreciated. The ancient art of welcoming guests has very basic and sensible principles that guide our work, but we need our guests' constant guidance and encouragement along the way. Thank you so much for your good company and your affirmation! We hope to meet again down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We spent the night at this hotel and thought it was a lovely place. The owner was so nice and had great recommendations for places to eat in town. The night desk clerk was kind and extremely helpful - we enjoyed her gracious hospitality! Our room was large and we had a private balcony looking out at the town and the marina. A wonderful renovation with very nice furnishings.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are all smiling to read the word "wonderful" here on staff. We decided before we even opened the doors that we wanted to be "wonderful," so a pat on the back that includes that little word makes us all sleep well at night. Thank you, and please come back by and see us and tell us what you have seen out there in the world since your visit. We are especially tickled that folks from Oregon (such a beautiful state) had a good time in little Cape Charles. Humbling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Can't say enough about the comfortable hotel, about wonderful Ned and about sweet Roxy. My husband and I and our dear friends and their dog Sailor had a fantastic 2 night visit. We hated to leave. As most of the reviews indicate, the decor is artsy, modern and whimsical. Our room was huge and spotlessly clean...the bed and pillows so comfortable. Loved the huge bathroom, bronze fixtures and rain shower! Ned was so friendly and helpful ... felt like he was a member of the family. Granola was delicious and the coffee to die for! Thank you Ned, Pam and Roxy for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ned B, General Manager at Hotel Cape Charles, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Aw shucks - we miss you guys too! Rox is still sniffing around for Sailor, and we still have the drawing up on the white wall in the flex space. We got such a nice chuckle seeing the lipstick on his nape. Please come see us again, even if you're just passing by - we have nice clean lobby bathrooms, better than any gas station! And our patio furniture just arrived, so you won't have to use beach chairs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cape Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cape Charles

Address: 235 Mason Ave, Cape Charles, VA 23310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cape Charles is a new boutique hotel on Virginia's Eastern Shore. We are the region's only full service hotel, with concierge services, conference facilities, and access to a wide range of amenities with nearby Bay Creek Resort, including access to golf courses and marina. Hotel Cape Charles is a beautiful and unique property; our rooms are light-filled, with private glass balconies, modern decor, and organic mattresses and linens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cape Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.