We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great but it's run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherrystone Family Camping Resort
Save
You added Cherrystone Family Camping Resort to your Saves list
1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA   |  
Hotel amenities
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could be great but it's run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were hoping to go during October for the decorations and Halloween fun, but ended up having to go the last weekend of September. We stayed in a cabin. It was one of the cabins with a queen and two sets of bunk beds, nothing else but an air conditioner. The cabin was very nice and perfect for the rainy weekend it turned out to be. The campground is very nice in and of itself.

A couple of things really turned me off from ever coming back. A couple of the attractions were falling apart. The onsite putt-putt course got me excited, but the holes borders were falling off, the cups were sticking out of the surface on a couple of holes, and the obstacles were in shambles. The game room was well stocked, but who has ever heard of 4 out of 4 pool tables and 3 out of 3 skeeball machines being "out of order". Even the Ms. Pacman wasn't working. The play ground had bottle caps in the sand.

The free fishing off of the peirs was a nice benefit. Also the bike rentals were reasonably priced. The paddle boats were fun and I could imagine in summer would be fun to go through the fountain with them. the bathhouse was clean and the water was perfect in the shower. I could imagine during peak seasons that they would get a bit messy in the mornings since they clean once per day for an hour and a half.

Overall, the short mini-vacation was fun and the kids had a blast. But for the state that the amenities were in, it won't be on our list of things to do in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
46
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great campsite for kids of all ages!!!! and adults and pets! Water within 5 minutes walk to take Rover for a swim and no one minds. Trash picked up and made the campsite/property very clean. Swimming pools and splash park was great fot the kids. They even have a water balloon war area next to the pool area thats free!! Fishing/crabbing/clamming was fun. Free paddle boats. They also put on a great fire works for Labor day and that was fun for the kids. Can't say enough good about the amenaties....

EXCEPT! If you have an issue due to inexperience backing a trailer into a campsite...BE FORE WARNED!!! The campsites (that we stayed at and around us) had no stone/gravel/concrete the would designate where your camper goes and the road is so narrow and congested its hard to back into a site. We have a 31' rv and it took me 10 minutes to back it in (I drive tractor trailers and it was a pain for me)! The site are all grass and if it rained, it would be a muddy mess. The campsite to me and my family just seemed very disorganized the way it was layed out. Roads are very narrow. 4 site hook up electric and water to one location so bring extension cord/garden house just in case.

Overall a great time for the kids and thats what is important.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just left from our first trip to Cherrystone. We were a little nervous from reading some of the reviews, but we had such a great time! There is so much to do, and truthfully we didn't get it fit all of it in within the 5 days we were there. The bathrooms were clean, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pools was wonderful for the kids. The loved the splash park and water balloon wars. There is a great farm stand with fresh seafood, and the camp store is very well stocked. Our favorite thing to do way crabbing and fishing, and the views are AMAZING! We loved it so much that we already booked for a week next year.

The only thing that didn't give this review a 5 was the flooding from the rain. I know we're camping and there's nothing that can be done about the weather. The kids made it fun and still had a great time riding through the puddles. If the grounds were graded better or there was a better drainage system, the flooding wouldn't be so bad. That being said, as soon as I called about the flooding, we had maintenance out to our site working on the issue.

Can't wait for next year!!

Room Tip: Get a water site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I just came back from Cherrystone on my first RV camping trip. I was AMAZED at how huge the lots were. There were SO many things to do!!! We went to the pool area everyday! Fishing, Crabbing, Bicycling, boating... there were so many things to do. Everyone was extremely friendly, It was like a small community. I was so happy about everything. I plan on making this an annual trip and can hardly wait for next summer! I highly recommend this to anyone who is considering a place to stay. Did I mention how amazing the sunsets were? I really can't say enough good things about this place! There was only ONE drawback... the flies. But that is to be expected while camping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family and I went to cherrystone for the week and we thought it was going to be a lot of fun. When we got there the camper was small, the bathroom was big enough for a dourf, the maintence toke for ever we would call and no one would show up for 2 to 3 hours. If u have a problem ask for joe he his the best worker there. I think cherrystone sucked do not wast your time or money there!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James834, Manager at Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do aplogize for not taking care of the problem with your rental quick enough. We were glad that our maintenance department was able to get the problem fixed however it did take some time to diagnose. We will be more diligent in the future. Happy camping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a great time. Rented a RV this year. This was our first time here at Cherrystone campground. I would not have gone here by the website they have, it was by word of mouth from several people. This may be by design as word of mouth is the best to go by. We stayed 3 nights, not enough will do an entire week next year.

There is a ton to do here to keep everyone occupied. Planned activities, craft time, great pool, crabbing and family gatherings in the evenings. Sites were nice; this is where we spent most of our nights.

The facilities were adequate and cleaned twice a day. If I had anything negative to say; some upgrades should be considered to the bath/showers they are clean but starting to show their age and the staff could give you a better orientation about what is here when you arrive. You are handed a map to your site and list of scheduled activities and the rest is up to you. By the third day we had it figured out and next time we will have our game on.

Also, you do not need a golf cart if you are camping you probably do not mind walking, nothing is that far away. We went to get a golf card just for the kids (they thought they were cool). When we tried they did not have any available. If you want one book it when you book your site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown NJ
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We rented a camping cabin for a week of 8/5. The location is great -right on Chesapeake Bay.There were 4 of us and we did not feel cramped. The cabin was clean,AC worked great and it was nice having a fridge rather then mess with cooler and ice. We took our 19 and 13yr boys on the trip with us.
We been at Cherrystone camping several time before in a camper and tent, but the last time was over 10 years ago. Since we sold our camper we been using camping cabins.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The maintenance crew was always busy and very visible during our stay. The pools were clean. There is even an adult only pool which we thought was nice touch. Restrooms were never messy or dirty, several time a day they were cleaned. The General store had almost anything you needed and the Bait shop was well stocked and reasonable priced. The free use of paddleboats, mini-golf and was a nice touch.
The boys kept busy catching crabs and fish off the docks(4) They got 1-2 dozen keepers every day. We tried clamming on several days, but only managed to find one. That was a little disappointing. When we went before we used to catch dozens of clams. Most of the fish were too small and were released, but kids had fun. Boat ramp is free.

There were several different activities sponsored by Cherrystone during day and evenings to keep kids from being bored. Even our 19yr enjoyed some of them and mingled
There are a lot more activities geared to kids under 12.

Most of the other campers were very friendly and we didn't run across any rude people during our stay. Several people including ourselves made too much food food for dinner and shared with our neighbors.
The flys were a little pesty during our stay and mosquitos were not bad at all, but remember you are camping on the water.

Cons-The prices in restaurant we thought were a little high. The breakfast buffet for the price should have included drinks.

While there we visited Cape Charles and Chincoteage for day trips.
Overall we had a great time and would recommend staying at Cherrystone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherrystone Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrystone Family Camping Resort

Address: 1511 Townfield Dr, Cape Charles, VA
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over 300 acres of natural waterfront on the Chesapeake Bay with 700 campsites and we have cabins, campers and cottages for rent as well. Memorial to Labor Day weekend we have: 5 pools, splash pad, beach entry pool, funcycles, bicycles, pedal boats, planned activities, arts and crafts, themed weekends, fishing piers, boat ramp, charter boat, arcade, coin laundry, cafe, general store, bait and tackle, beautiful sunsets year round, great wildlife picture opportunities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherrystone Family Camping Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.