We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid time at the Fig Street Inn!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fig Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fig Street Inn
Save
You added Fig Street Inn to your Saves list
711 Tazewell Avenue, Cape Charles, VA 23310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Cape Charles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boucherville, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Splendid time at the Fig Street Inn!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything was per-fect and the hosts are the best!!!!! I have food allergies and they did everything to accomodate me. The beach is very close by and you will find everything in the inn to be confortable. Cape Charles is a very charming little town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Wonderful guests from Canada! It's usually not a problem to accommodate dietary requests with advance notice. When this guest booked, she told us about her allergies so we were able to plan meals and purchase foods to meet her needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
115
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wonderful accomodations! Cozy, immaculate and the sheets and towels smelled wonderful!
Breakfast was lovely. Enjoyed wine on the wrap around porch.
Donna and Greg were wonderful hosts!

Definately returning....Great overnight on way to OBX or for a weekend....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Cape Charles is the perfect overnight stop for travelers to OBX. We're getting more and more people stopping here on their way down south. Glad you could enjoy some wine and watch the Yankee game on your iPad while the rain storm passed over. We may have lost power for 2 hours but we're glad you could relax and still make this a great visit. Hope to see you again on your next trip to OBX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matoaca
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

You will not be disappointed in this B&B. Great hospitality, beautiful rooms, delicious breakfast, every detail perfect. My husband and I had a king room and our friends had a queen beside us. Wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you Greg and Donna!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
These guests had our Narragansett (queen) and Chesapeake (king) rooms right next to one another. They spent time hanging out in each other's rooms and on our large wrap around porch. Thanks for finding us on your way to your final destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Place was very comfortable, and well maintained (all renovations current and nicely designed). Parking was ample. Amenities at our disposal were also ample (coolers water, beach aparatus etc.). Fig St. Inn is a nice place to stay and is run by 2 very capable people Greg and Donna.

Room Tip: Larger rooms are very nice with Couches and othe furniture,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Really great guests who spent 7 nights with us and explored up and down the Eastern Shore and across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel to the Hampton Roads area. They booked our Narragansett Room and we were able to give them a complimentary upgrade to our Boston Harbor Suite for their last 4 nights when the room became available. Glad they could enjoy the extra space to relax and experience 2 different rooms at our inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KILMARNOCK, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

How can I elaborate on all of the wonderful things that have already been said in previous reviews? All I can say is, if you visit Cape Charles and don't stay at the Fig Street Inn, then you are depriving yourself of experiencing one of life's hidden treasures. The house itself is grand, from the planks of the wood floors to the tip of the roof. Every aspect of it has been lovingly furbished, allowing the guest to indulge in restful relaxation. The property itself is in an ideal location, with shops, restaurants, marinas and golf course easily reached by foot, bike or golf cart. The owners, Greg and Donna are two of the friendliest, kindest, most hospitable and accomodating people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We arrived late on a Friday night, soaking wet and battered after boating across the Bay in rough weather. Donna met us with a smile and quickly showed us to our glorious room so we could pull ourselves together. The next morning we were served the most scrumptious breakfast and were given the rundown on everything we needed to know for the length of our stay...which happened to turn into an extra night because we loved it so much! We thank them for opening their home (they live on property with their 2 adorable girls) to us and for making our first B & B experience so memorable. They will definately see us again! Cape Charles is very fortunate to have the Fig Street Inn, and Greg and Donna, as their neighbors! ~Tom and Lisa Gale~

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I hope these guests will forgive us for taking far too long to respond to their fantastic review. We've thought long and hard about what to say and there is no way of getting around saying that these were our absolute favorite guests in our 8+ years as innkeepers. They were the kind of guests you could just sit down for hours and talk about everything and nothing. We loved hearing about their travels, jobs, where they lived. They had fantastic senses of humor and we thank them for all the laughs and joy they brought to our home that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Fig Street Inn was our very first B&B on our honeymoon roadtrip, and let me tell you, they set the bar high. The house is beautiful, with a full downstairs for guests, including a little snack table complete with all kinds of goodies, including York Peppermint Patties, which I indulged a little too much in. My husband and I stayed on the first floor in the room with the private entrance. Immediately I thought there was a mistake, why would I reserve the best room in the house on our budget? We had a beautiful bathroom with stone work and all kinds of goodies. I later learned that this amazing room actually WASN"T the best room in the house. It was just that amazing.
We were exhausted when we arrived and unfortunately weren't very social and did not take advantage of the common rooms or the wrap around porch. Instead, we laid in the ridiculously comfy bed and watched some movies from the owners' fantastic collection.
In the morning, we felt completely rested and enjoyed breakfast with the other two couples staying at the inn. Though we were quite a bit younger than the other guests, we managed to turn breakfast into an hour and a half affair. The food was delicious and the company fantastic. We had been talking about our respective rooms and began asking the owners about the renovations they had done. Once it became clear that all of us were comfortable with it, the owner took us on a tour of the house. The work that they did is absolutely incredible. Each and every room was thoughtfully renovated and arranged.
We only had scheduled that one night at the inn, but my husband and I agreed that we wish we had more time there. We definitely have to find a reason to go back to Cape Charles!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for including us in your honeymoon adventure. We're glad you could enjoy a restful night here and we hope you enjoyed your trip down south. Greg had fun giving everyone a house tour after breakfast so you could all see each other's rooms. Our candy/snack bar selection is always changing, but we'll make sure we have Peppermint Patties when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our recent stay at the Fig Street Inn was absolutely amazing. I have loved the beautiful home that Donna and Greg have so beautifully restored since my parents moved to Cape Charles 9 yrs ago. My husband and I have stayed in several places in CC over the past years, but nothing compares to the Fig Street Inn. The breakfasts were delicious; the linens smelled wonderful; the bed was heavenly; and Donna and Greg so warm and welcoming. The place is immaculate and so beautiful. Cannot wait for a return visit. If you are looking for a place to stay in Cape Charles, look no further. Fig Street Inn is the place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful birthday weekend.

Room Tip: The Boston Harbor Suite is very spacious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FigStreetInn, Owner at Fig Street Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I am so sorry we didn't know it was your birthday - Happy Belated Birthday! We really appreciate your glowing review, particularly since you have experience with other places in our area. It was a great weekend, with great guests - one of our most favorite ever - and we are so glad you were part of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fig Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Street Inn

Address: 711 Tazewell Avenue, Cape Charles, VA 23310
Location: United States > Virginia > Cape Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fig Street Inn is a boutique−style inn located on Virginia’s Eastern Shore in the historic town of Cape Charles. Enjoy elegant and gracious accommodations with a mix of antique furnishings, contemporary design and modern amenities. All rooms include a private, ensuite, tiled bath, flat screen satellite TV with Bluray, WiFi, MP3, and central air/heat. Jetted tubs or gas fireplace available in select rooms. Full homemade breakfast included. Fig Street Inn is located within walking distance to town shops, restaurants, spa, and galleries and 1/2 mile to the Chesapeake Bay and sandy beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fig Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.