We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great country food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Farmer

The Hungry Farmer
15397 Fancy Gap Highway, Cana, VA 24317
(276) 755-4341
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Cana
Cuisines: American
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Orange County, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great country food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were traveling North on route 81 and needed a lunch break. We decided to take a chance on this little restaurant. It it not directly off the highway, but the trip through the area was quite pretty. It's an unassuming place with the option of buffet dining or choosing from the menu. We chose to eat from the menu. The prices were extremely fair and the food was simple and delicious. My husband chose the BBQ and had pinto beans and beets for his sides. I had ham, mac/cheese and turnip greens. Our waitress was friendly and our meal was great. It's worth the time if this is your kind of food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    10
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not worth a stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is home country cooking, but it's nothing special. We are from the buffet. I'm not sure if something ordered from the menu would be better. I will pass it by on my next trip.
Service was good. Waitress was sweet.
But I can cook that stuff at home.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cana resteraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Good food, cheap prices on the menu, I think the buffet is a bit overprised, however.
Currently going through some remodeling.
Friendly staff.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt airy, nc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. Food was greasy, cold and not good at all. We left the Hungry Farmer still hungry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great buffet meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stopped by the Hungry Farmer restaurant on a recent trip up to Hillsville, VA. The buffet was hot and well stocked with country meats and vegetables. I loved the fried chicken, and the mashed potatos with gravy were outstanding. The selection of meats and vegetables were plentiful enough to please even the most picky eater. A salad bar is also available. Enjoy! you won't be disappointed with your meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Farmer also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Farmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Farmer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.