We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, tired, cheap -- okay for a night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Motel to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motel
29th Street, Buena Vista, VA 24416   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buena Vista
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Old, tired, cheap -- okay for a night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

As I've said more than once; independent lodgings have, for at least the last couple decades, the options of joining a chain, becoming a home-like charming place, or being just plain cheap. I've stayed at places that have made each of these choices, and this one has taken option three.

Stayed here one night in order to get an early start hiking on a day I expected more heat and humidity than I could handle. I originally thought to camping out on this night, but then realized I would be unlikely to sleep well in a tent if the air never really got comfortable. So I looked for the least expensive place to stay that was as close to the trail head as possible -- and this place fit both requirements.

The place is clearly old, and has not had any major renovations in years. The locks on the doors, for example, still use keys and are the type that do not lock unless you press the button on the knob. That was standard when I first stayed at motels -- over fifty years ago! -- but it's long past standard today.

The office has literally nothing except a counter for check-in and a box of tourist literature -- not even a bathroom! The clerk has trouble finding a key for my room, which had to leave me unimpressed. The room itself had full bath, phone, AC, radio-alarm, microwave, mini-fridge (badly in need of a defrosting), coffee-maker, and TV with 37 channels. The curtains did not fully close, and the rotator for one of the windows was completely broken -- I had to close the window by pulling on it. The bed was comfortable, the room was well-stocked & clean, and the place was quiet enough for me to get a good night's sleep. Free amenities included parking and wi-fi -- the latter did not seem to work with my smart phone.

The motel is isolated from the town, so you'll need a car just to get something to eat. The view of the mountains was, as stated by the motel's URL, quite nice.

If you're in the area and just need a roof over your head for a night, this will probably suffice. But the place is so much in need of renovation that, despite its low price, I could not give it even a mediocre rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was on a motorcycle trip from Florida riding the Blue Ridge Pkwy. It was getting late in the afternoon, the GPS showed two motels in Buena vista, Virginia, the Budget in was a joke, it should be condemned, I didn't stay there. I rode just down the street to the second motel in town, the Buena Vista motel. I couldn't believe I stopped in this town. I was very tired so I stayed. The rate was too high at $66 dollars, for this place was a joke. The place looked terrible, the room was old and out dated. I don`t smoke but I asked the lady at the front desk if I could save money by staying in a smoking room, she said yes, only I almost gaged when I went in the room, so I stuck with a non smoking room. You may not believe this next statement but I swear it`s true. The front door of the room looked like it had been kicked in, so I had to prop a chair in front of it to feel safe and I`m a retired cop. Avoid this town at all costs. I took some photos, see for your self.

Room Tip: Don`t waste your time going to this town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buena Vista hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you are looking for a new modern room, lots of amenities, large flat screen TV, and a sumtuous breakfast, drive by this motel. It has none of these. It is basic lodging. We stayed there for 3 nights to attend a musical event in the area. The room was dated to say the least but it had a better heating/cooliong unit than some of the more expensive places we have stayed at recently. The beds were comfortable. Linen on the beds and in the bathroom was clean. During our stay we experienced no loud parties. It appeared that many of the guests were construction workers. We had stayed here in the past and had a similar experience. The price per night reflects what the motel is. If we are in the area and decide not to ride through deer country in the dark we'll stay here again. It's a far cry form a Holiday Inn Express. It has been clean and quiet basic lodging for us.

Room Tip: Be prepared to step back into the 60's and experience some warts. It ain't perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place doesn't look too bad from the outside, so when I needed a place to stay in that area I made a phone reservation (no e-mail) about a month in advance. Then I called two more times to confirm. I clearly requested and was told I would have a non-smoking room, but none were available when I checked in. I did enter the room and it reeked -- plus it was NOT clean-looking to me. The man in the office did refund my payment. Still, just because of the way it looks I would not stay there in any room in the future.

Just two exits up the Interstate in Raphine, VA, we got a room, with a view, in a beautiful new Comfort Inn for only $5 more than we were going to pay in Buena Vista! There were several other nice-looking chain hotels in that area.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking for something very close to the Blue Ridge Parkway and this fit in with that plan. This is a very basic motel. We didn't expect much and didn't get much. They do offer discounts to local restaurant but we had already eaten. The man who checked us in was polite and the other guests were quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Loud party right outside our room and night manager did nothing said they were senior citizens. We couldn't get to sleep until 2 am after driving on the parkway all day. Moldy shower and water wouldnt drain so you were standing in nasty water.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This motel has a ton of potential but it's horribly dirty. Our mattresses had stains that either reflected vomit or feces. Huge cobwebs in the corners and the blankets were visably dirty.
We asked for nonsmoking & got a room reeking of smoke.
Because of the location I had no other choice and slept in my sleeping bag on top of the bed after stripping it down to the sheets.
Avoid if possible!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motel

Address: 29th Street, Buena Vista, VA 24416
Location: United States > Virginia > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Buena Vista
Buena Vista Motel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.