We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget motel close to the BRP.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buena Vista Motel to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motel
29th Street, Buena Vista, VA 24416   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buena Vista
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good budget motel close to the BRP.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway. The motel is clean and comfortable but the walls between the rooms are a little thin. I would certainly stay again if the need arose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
6
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend get a way and a motorcycle challenge. The motel isn't much to look at from the outside, but it's privately owned, and its very retro but it's well maintained, and super clean!
Two nice beds (not marriott) but firm and nice. Little refrig, microwave, tv, and cable! Free internet. Its a super great value for the price. Best thing the rooms still has all original signage and fixtures, plus they have real keys, not computer cards, an actual key that opens the door! It's awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We can't understand the negative feedback. Maybe we were lucky with which room we got. It was clean and everything worked and the receptionist was friendly. OK we don't have a lot of experience of Stateside motels, but this was the best of the half a dozen we used on our trip, definitely better than the two chains we used. The small town of Buena Vista, which has several restaurants, is a few miles off the interstate so it's nice and peaceful. We'd stay again if in the area. We ate at Don Tequila Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

First of all, I am not a person that easily complains and goes back to management and asks for my money back. But after my stay at this hotel recently, I need to tell you what happened. Our shower cold faucet did not work - was a loose faucet; so we couldn't take a shower. My husband went to find the management later that evening - they were gone so he followed the instructions to call someone - which got him to no one. In the morning when checking out we asked to be compensated for part of our cost - the gentleman at the desk said he was not authorized to make those decisions. Nor would he give me the phone number of the person that was authorized. They were not apologetic or willing to compensate me $20. That is no way to take care of your customers. Not only that, he moved us to a different room after checking us in (the other room was not clean) and we noticed that the one other couple that came also went back to the office and moved rooms. Drive to another town - find a hotel there before staying at the Buena Vista.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buena Vista hotels

Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We travel lots for business and were nervous about the quality of a motel offered for $35 per night in the coupon book. We were pleased to find clean rooms with new beds, fluffy towels, great internet speed and even digital cable with on demand in our room. We stayed 3 nights and while not fancy at all, we lacked for nothing. The town is quiet and very small town. We were happy to have a fridge and microwave in the room too. In our travels we have stayed at those awful, smelly, buggy rooms- this is definitely the other side of the coin. Like someone else said, don't expect a marble lobby and such, this is a simple, small motel which has been lovingly cared for and renovated over the years.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stay here every year for the local bluegrass festival, and usually are impressed with the down homey throwback atmosphere of this little hotel. Not so this year. The bedspread was frayed, the walls were dented and dirty, and the advertised wifi was originally nonfunctional. When I went to the front desk to mention that the wifi was not working and needed to be addressed, I was greeted by a woman who held up a pen and defiantly declared "this is my computer!"

a) I don't care about your own technological incompetence, lady.
b) You advertise that there is wifi. That means there should be wifi.
c) You are rude and ignorant.

I later found out that the problem had stemmed from a lightning strike two weeks earlier. TWO WEEKS. This is beyond incompetent - why weren't the proprietors on top of this to get it fixed in a timely manner? Bush league, and not worthy of anyone business.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,Mi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Dirty, smelly and i cant believe i actuall stayed there. This place is nasty!!!!!You can get a good room near the interstate about 7 miles away and have several choices!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Buena Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motel

Address: 29th Street, Buena Vista, VA 24416
Location: United States > Virginia > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Buena Vista
Buena Vista Motel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.