We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Buena Vista Motel to your Saves list
Buena Vista Motel
29th Street, Buena Vista, VA 24416   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buena Vista
Torbay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overnight on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We can't understand the negative feedback. Maybe we were lucky with which room we got. It was clean and everything worked and the receptionist was friendly. OK we don't have a lot of experience of Stateside motels, but this was the best of the half a dozen we used on our trip, definitely better than the two chains we used. The small town of Buena Vista, which has several restaurants, is a few miles off the interstate so it's nice and peaceful. We'd stay again if in the area. We ate at Don Tequila Mexican restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    9
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

First of all, I am not a person that easily complains and goes back to management and asks for my money back. But after my stay at this hotel recently, I need to tell you what happened. Our shower cold faucet did not work - was a loose faucet; so we couldn't take a shower. My husband went to find the management later that evening - they were gone so he followed the instructions to call someone - which got him to no one. In the morning when checking out we asked to be compensated for part of our cost - the gentleman at the desk said he was not authorized to make those decisions. Nor would he give me the phone number of the person that was authorized. They were not apologetic or willing to compensate me $20. That is no way to take care of your customers. Not only that, he moved us to a different room after checking us in (the other room was not clean) and we noticed that the one other couple that came also went back to the office and moved rooms. Drive to another town - find a hotel there before staying at the Buena Vista.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buena Vista hotels

Dandridge, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We travel lots for business and were nervous about the quality of a motel offered for $35 per night in the coupon book. We were pleased to find clean rooms with new beds, fluffy towels, great internet speed and even digital cable with on demand in our room. We stayed 3 nights and while not fancy at all, we lacked for nothing. The town is quiet and very small town. We were happy to have a fridge and microwave in the room too. In our travels we have stayed at those awful, smelly, buggy rooms- this is definitely the other side of the coin. Like someone else said, don't expect a marble lobby and such, this is a simple, small motel which has been lovingly cared for and renovated over the years.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stay here every year for the local bluegrass festival, and usually are impressed with the down homey throwback atmosphere of this little hotel. Not so this year. The bedspread was frayed, the walls were dented and dirty, and the advertised wifi was originally nonfunctional. When I went to the front desk to mention that the wifi was not working and needed to be addressed, I was greeted by a woman who held up a pen and defiantly declared "this is my computer!"

a) I don't care about your own technological incompetence, lady.
b) You advertise that there is wifi. That means there should be wifi.
c) You are rude and ignorant.

I later found out that the problem had stemmed from a lightning strike two weeks earlier. TWO WEEKS. This is beyond incompetent - why weren't the proprietors on top of this to get it fixed in a timely manner? Bush league, and not worthy of anyone business.

We won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,Mi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Dirty, smelly and i cant believe i actuall stayed there. This place is nasty!!!!!You can get a good room near the interstate about 7 miles away and have several choices!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I have always utilized TripAdvisor reviews when hunting for hotel options. They are almost always accurate. In light of the reviews I have read about the little Buena Vista Motel, I have to respond!
People! Buena Vista is a sleepy little university town right off the main road of the Shenandoah Blue Ridge Parkway. The motel never intended to be a luxury, stay for four days type of hotel. It is a decent little place for about $60 per night, with decently comfy beds and some of the best showers anywhere. We stay at the Buena Vista Motel when delivery out daughter to Southern VA University or when we arrive to being her back home. We have stayed at the Wingate in Lexington for twice the price, but it did not offer twice the convenience for location or even amenities.
Take the motel for what it is. A stopping place to crash, take a good shower and move on. Why anyone would expect more for $60 is beyond me.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Hotels around lexington are varied and tend to get way over priced when the schools have events. This place is minutes away, clean, cozy, with decent beds and very large rooms. It has become our preferred stay when visiting VMI.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Motel

Address: 29th Street, Buena Vista, VA 24416
Location: United States > Virginia > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buena Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Buena Vista
Buena Vista Motel Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.