We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wattstull Inn
Save
You added Wattstull Inn to your Saves list
130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Doswell
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic hotel with large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Not a lot of surprises here. A basic, very clean, country roadside style over sized hotel room at a good price with some great vista views. Only found two things missing -- no electrical outlets or quest controlled fan in bathroom. Also can be challenging to find someone in the office if you need help with something (thou they are a phone call away). Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This hotel is the type of facility that was popular in the 1960's before the chain hotels became predominant. The rooms have changed very little since the building was constructed in 1959 with the exception of a more recently added microwave oven, refrigerator and flat screen TV. Coffee is available in the "lobby". The hotel overlooks the surrounding mountains and I 81. In spite of the road noise outside, the rooms are really quiet. We enjoyed a good night's sleep on the very comfortable beds. The rooms are clean, the water pressure in the shower is excellent, the wi-fi was free and there is Direct TV in the rooms. With that said, this is definitely a budget hotel experience which is reflected in the rates charged.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This little hotel is off an exit off I-81 that has only a handful of things. Its a quiet offbeat place that many probably do not think to stop. The rooms are quaint and clean. It was quite comfortable and after 10 hours of driving and being stuck behind a wreck it was a relief to get off and find it. The view of the mountains was the cake topper. Great thing is that there is a little gas station at the bottom of the driveway that can easily be walked to for anything you might need. There is also a restaurant with home cooking near it. The people running it were also friendly. I would recommend if you aren't expecting something over the top with a 5 star luxury status attached to it. Simple and Clean with wifi and tv then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was planning a trip to Roanoke followed by a trip to the Virginia mountains. I stopped by AAA and they recommended the Wattstull Inn based on it`s location. After an online search i saw the photos of the inn and decided to give the Wattstull Inn a try. Friendly family ownership and a maintained property. The room was clean and the bathroom spotless. Direct TV and fast WiFi top
off a great experience. The pool was down for maintenance the only snag of a perfect stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Buckle, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from a visit to our daughter & family in PA. Read the reviews & decided to give it a try. It is not a fancy place, but the rooms are nice and clean. The view from the front of the inn was breathtaking. The rate was very reasonable. Will definitely plan on staying again. By the way, there is an REALLY good restaurant about 6 miles away called the North Star on Hwy 11. It was great food at very good prices and good service too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you are traveling on I-81 and want a relaxing place to sleep,try The Wattstull Inn,26 rooms stretched out on the side of the hill with at door parking.When you check in you actually get a key with a plastic tag with your room number.No card swiping here or big chain amenities.A comfortable bed,a/c and tv.You can take in the breathtaking view of the mountains in your sturdy Adirondack chair.the rooms are very clean,beds are average.There are both smoking and non-smoking rooms.There is an outdoor pool but wasn't open for the season yet.Don't go there hungry,you won't find a restaurant or dunkin near by.The bathrooms are very small but have what you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here last spring on a trip north and stayed again on this trip a few weeks ago. Only two rooms were rented on a Saturday night but weather was iffy. Again I really like this place. Rate is great, there is a fridge, plenty of heat. No places to eat when you arrive later in the evening but I brought food along. No breakfast here - it's an old time mom & pop motel. But the rooms are large, plenty of heat, bathroom is small but spotless. Internet is good. It had everything I needed and the most incredible views of the mountains from the front door. Chairs in front of every room to enjoy the view. I really hope people will support good locally owned motels and keep them in business. This one is worth saving. Front staff was very friendly and their dog was there to greet me too. The bathrooms have real tile, this time it was shades of green. ( I think my last visit it was pink.) Bathrooms are very tiny but fine for me.

Room Tip: There are only 25? rooms. Make sure you specify non or smoking as they have both. All face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Location: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattstull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.