We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View Wattstull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wattstull Inn
Save
You added Wattstull Inn to your Saves list
130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful View Wattstull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This little hotel is off an exit off I-81 that has only a handful of things. Its a quiet offbeat place that many probably do not think to stop. The rooms are quaint and clean. It was quite comfortable and after 10 hours of driving and being stuck behind a wreck it was a relief to get off and find it. The view of the mountains was the cake topper. Great thing is that there is a little gas station at the bottom of the driveway that can easily be walked to for anything you might need. There is also a restaurant with home cooking near it. The people running it were also friendly. I would recommend if you aren't expecting something over the top with a 5 star luxury status attached to it. Simple and Clean with wifi and tv then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was planning a trip to Roanoke followed by a trip to the Virginia mountains. I stopped by AAA and they recommended the Wattstull Inn based on it`s location. After an online search i saw the photos of the inn and decided to give the Wattstull Inn a try. Friendly family ownership and a maintained property. The room was clean and the bathroom spotless. Direct TV and fast WiFi top
off a great experience. The pool was down for maintenance the only snag of a perfect stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Buckle, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from a visit to our daughter & family in PA. Read the reviews & decided to give it a try. It is not a fancy place, but the rooms are nice and clean. The view from the front of the inn was breathtaking. The rate was very reasonable. Will definitely plan on staying again. By the way, there is an REALLY good restaurant about 6 miles away called the North Star on Hwy 11. It was great food at very good prices and good service too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you are traveling on I-81 and want a relaxing place to sleep,try The Wattstull Inn,26 rooms stretched out on the side of the hill with at door parking.When you check in you actually get a key with a plastic tag with your room number.No card swiping here or big chain amenities.A comfortable bed,a/c and tv.You can take in the breathtaking view of the mountains in your sturdy Adirondack chair.the rooms are very clean,beds are average.There are both smoking and non-smoking rooms.There is an outdoor pool but wasn't open for the season yet.Don't go there hungry,you won't find a restaurant or dunkin near by.The bathrooms are very small but have what you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here last spring on a trip north and stayed again on this trip a few weeks ago. Only two rooms were rented on a Saturday night but weather was iffy. Again I really like this place. Rate is great, there is a fridge, plenty of heat. No places to eat when you arrive later in the evening but I brought food along. No breakfast here - it's an old time mom & pop motel. But the rooms are large, plenty of heat, bathroom is small but spotless. Internet is good. It had everything I needed and the most incredible views of the mountains from the front door. Chairs in front of every room to enjoy the view. I really hope people will support good locally owned motels and keep them in business. This one is worth saving. Front staff was very friendly and their dog was there to greet me too. The bathrooms have real tile, this time it was shades of green. ( I think my last visit it was pink.) Bathrooms are very tiny but fine for me.

Room Tip: There are only 25? rooms. Make sure you specify non or smoking as they have both. All face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The adjacent restaurant held promise of great home-cooked food but two different dinner meals were just fair. Heavy fog limited our view but it looked like morning across the valley would be pretty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was clean and comfortable for the price we paid. We called from the road and just wanted a place to crash. The room was clean, the towels were fine, and the bed was comfortable. Beats staying at one of the chains. Plus a great view and friendly service at the breakfast place at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Owned and Operated Inn offering King,Two Double, Single, and Adjoining Suites. Limited Smoking and Pet friendly Rooms. All rooms feature free Wi-fi, flat screen tv's streaming DirecTv, and refrigerators. The Inn also features it's own private pool for guests only as well as Free Coffee in the Office lounge and the Mountain View Restaurant is just below offering dining options as well as other local venues. Coming soon new for 2015 is our Kayak rental and guide service offering multiple options and package rates as well as other added amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattstull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.