We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wattstull Inn
Save
You added Wattstull Inn to your Saves list
130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Corning, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you are traveling on I-81 and want a relaxing place to sleep,try The Wattstull Inn,26 rooms stretched out on the side of the hill with at door parking.When you check in you actually get a key with a plastic tag with your room number.No card swiping here or big chain amenities.A comfortable bed,a/c and tv.You can take in the breathtaking view of the mountains in your sturdy Adirondack chair.the rooms are very clean,beds are average.There are both smoking and non-smoking rooms.There is an outdoor pool but wasn't open for the season yet.Don't go there hungry,you won't find a restaurant or dunkin near by.The bathrooms are very small but have what you need.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here last spring on a trip north and stayed again on this trip a few weeks ago. Only two rooms were rented on a Saturday night but weather was iffy. Again I really like this place. Rate is great, there is a fridge, plenty of heat. No places to eat when you arrive later in the evening but I brought food along. No breakfast here - it's an old time mom & pop motel. But the rooms are large, plenty of heat, bathroom is small but spotless. Internet is good. It had everything I needed and the most incredible views of the mountains from the front door. Chairs in front of every room to enjoy the view. I really hope people will support good locally owned motels and keep them in business. This one is worth saving. Front staff was very friendly and their dog was there to greet me too. The bathrooms have real tile, this time it was shades of green. ( I think my last visit it was pink.) Bathrooms are very tiny but fine for me.

Room Tip: There are only 25? rooms. Make sure you specify non or smoking as they have both. All face the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The adjacent restaurant held promise of great home-cooked food but two different dinner meals were just fair. Heavy fog limited our view but it looked like morning across the valley would be pretty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was clean and comfortable for the price we paid. We called from the road and just wanted a place to crash. The room was clean, the towels were fine, and the bed was comfortable. Beats staying at one of the chains. Plus a great view and friendly service at the breakfast place at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here because it was a halfway point on our vacation. We brought our dogs and the motel allows them for a fee. It had clean sheets and towels. If you want fancy spend more and stay somewhere else. we only stayed 9 hours bit the stay was everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Could not ask for a better view! The room was spacious and clean. No bugs, stains, smells or random hairs. The lady who owns the hotel isn't overly pleasant she's just there. I don't know, when I go to mom and pop places I would think the owners would at least make you feel welcome and smile at you but nope, not her.
CONS: No Coffee and the pool was nasty. I stuck my feet in it but that's about it...
PROS: Hotel and gas station within walking distance and we got to keep a towel to clean our bike.
But they place is so pretty I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

At first we weren't sure if this place was open. After a few minutes, a young guy came running over to open up the locked office. He was very friendly and apologized for the office being locked. The room was stuffy but quickly cooled off with the AC on. The room was large and the king sized bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattstull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.