We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room for $75...awesome value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wattstull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buchanan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Wattstull Inn
Save Saved
You added Wattstull Inn to your Saves list
130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Buchanan B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a room for $75...awesome value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was clean and comfortable for the price we paid. We called from the road and just wanted a place to crash. The room was clean, the towels were fine, and the bed was comfortable. Beats staying at one of the chains. Plus a great view and friendly service at the breakfast place at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
17
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because it was a halfway point on our vacation. We brought our dogs and the motel allows them for a fee. It had clean sheets and towels. If you want fancy spend more and stay somewhere else. we only stayed 9 hours bit the stay was everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Could not ask for a better view! The room was spacious and clean. No bugs, stains, smells or random hairs. The lady who owns the hotel isn't overly pleasant she's just there. I don't know, when I go to mom and pop places I would think the owners would at least make you feel welcome and smile at you but nope, not her.
CONS: No Coffee and the pool was nasty. I stuck my feet in it but that's about it...
PROS: Hotel and gas station within walking distance and we got to keep a towel to clean our bike.
But they place is so pretty I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

At first we weren't sure if this place was open. After a few minutes, a young guy came running over to open up the locked office. He was very friendly and apologized for the office being locked. The room was stuffy but quickly cooled off with the AC on. The room was large and the king sized bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was clean, and for those who complain about the lack of a bathroom fan and what that implies in a humid environment, this building is a 50's vintage. Location is great, the view is gorgeous, they accept dogs if they are well behaved, and I paid less than $100 for the night. Saw kids having fun in the pool. There is a restaurant nearby, but I would head for the Greenwood diner two exits south for a meal. The restaurant's in Buchanan all appear to be closed except for the grill in the drugstore that could have been a setting in Mayberry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Let's just say for the money, stay somewhere else. The good things - location, and friendly cleaning staff. The bad things - the unfriendliness of the lady that runs this place. From the reservation process, to check in, to anything else you may have to ask about. Advertised as to having a pool, well that is correct they do have a pool, but you can't swim in it! Apparently a bridge has been out for 10 months and this was the reason that the pool was not ready. Not sure what that has to do with anything but that is what we were told. Pet friendly - yes, but you can't leave your pet unattended in the room. Cleanliness - upon arrival, hedges being trimmed and laying all over the sidewalks and entry ways, rooms old and outdated, outside garbage can (1) ran over all weekend. Ice machine jammed. As previously mentioned no hairdryer, no coffee maker, no vent in bathroom. Some rooms had refrigerator and microwave, some did not. And yes, there are two steps to get up onto the walkway area. All in all the worst experience we have ever had and we travel a lot. I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed three days, but honestly wished we had moved on after the first.

The room was clean, but very lacking in modern appointments. No hairdryer, no coffee maker, no vent in the bathroom, etc. The TV was an old 19" tube television with a poor picture. The Wifi was hit or miss, and most of the time didn't connect.

The view of the mountain is decent, but would be much better if the Interstate wasn't right in front of the hotel. My plan was to read a bit while enjoying the view, but the noise from I-81 was just too much.

I will absolutely have to agree with some of the others about the customer service. The lady behind the desk was rude and impolite. She must be the owner because her picture was hanging up on the wall of the lobby, which was a little strange. We got a chuckle out of that, despite her peculiar bad attitude.

Also, we were her in the middle of June, and the pool still wasn't opened yet. Huh?? That was a big disappointment since they advertise having a pool and we were looking forward to it.

Don't get me wrong. It it was $40-$50 per night it would be about right. But $70 for this place? Never again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wattstull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wattstull Inn

Address: 130 Arcadia Road, Buchanan, VA 24066
Location: United States > Virginia > Buchanan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buchanan
Also Known As:
Wattstull Hotel Buchanan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wattstull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;