We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite local Japanese restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osaka Japanese Steakhouse

Osaka Japanese Steakhouse
102 Bonham Rd, Bristol, VA 24202
(276) 669-8788
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Asian fusion
Good for: Doing business
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Bristol, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite local Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great food and friendly service here. The sushimi and sushi are quite good. I love the Bento boxes. Great service in a warm atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rural Retreat, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not sure what you expect in SWVA... but..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place is excellent! Great service, portions were good. Out of every similar place that I have eaten this one is at the top. I have eaten at every restaurant within a 100 miles of this place, this place is above average. I was 100% satisfied. Sick of paying big bucks at Olive Garden, Red Lobster etc. for "average" meals.
One review said that interior was dated, I liked it, it was something we noticed, clean, modern open look.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Below average Sushi. Poor. Would not go again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The quality of the sashimi and sushi that I had here was really below average. I had a combo and some individual sashimis. None were better than average and the rest were below. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fair for Sushi when you aren't on the coast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

If you are looking for sushi in the area Osaka is probably your best bet, but do not have your expectations set for coastal style sushi.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Friendly staff and good food. Selections from sushi bar are fantastic and get some of the specials!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osaka Japanese Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.