We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Microtel - you get a little more than you expect for the $” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn and Suites Bristol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn and Suites Bristol to your Saves list
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Bristol East Road, Bristol, VA 24202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bristol
East Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Typical Microtel - you get a little more than you expect for the $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My experience with Microtel is that most are new'ish properties and most do a decent job of maintaining the properties. They are all very competitively priced. Most properties offer a breakfast that suffers in comparison to HIE or Hampton, but again...you're paying $20-30 less for a "somewhat comparable" room, in most cases. This site was no different.

We walked in, no reservation. Took a Queen suite at $80. The room was clean and the AC worked well, no mysterious smells or stains. The carpet was ripped in the entry hall. The room had a sofa-bed, but we didn't open it. We didn't try the breakfast, but we did get a 10% discount at O'Charleys for showing our room key (nice surprise!).

It was a pleasant one nighter on the side of the interstate. No surprises.

Checkout was PAINFULLY slow. I was told that their computer system ran from the Wyndham mainframe and that if the Wyndham system was experiencing heavy check-ins or check-outs, everything grinds to a halt. In this day and age of free high-speed internet at McD's....seems like Wyndham could improve on this system! We waited for several minutes and finally decided to have our folio emailed instead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
17
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We normally stay here while visiting family but we will not do it again! It was never the best but it seemed like it was worth the money; not so much these days! We booked online and when calling the office to make certain things went through, we were told that there was actually no rooms available (including the room we just were able to book on their website) unless we upgraded to a suite - after our online reservation had been accepted. We were told we would have to change rooms during our stay to get the rate we reserved online. Checked in to a room that had a horrible odor, trash left in it, nasty carpet, and the room was hot - taking the ac till 3am to cool it down. Then, the next morning, ants.... everywhere!! No, No, No!!! Still trying to get our money back from a refund or discount not being granted after we said we would not be staying the second night due to horrible conditions for the money we were paying. There's enough hotels around the area that is worth paying a little more for to rest easy and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff K, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites Bristol, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Good morning. My name is Jeff Kemp and I am the General Manager of the Microtel Inn & Suites in Bristol, Va. I apologize for the inconvenience and confusion that occured during your last visit. We are looking into why the two computer systems are not matching up( on site and website) and trying to eliminate this problem. We thank you for your previous business and hope we can resolve this matter and get your business in the future. Please feel free to contact me at 276-669-8164, Monday thru Friday 7:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here one night while visiting family in the area. All of the staff were super helpful and friendly. We called down for an extra coffee and it appeared at our door within 3 minutes. These people could give lessons in customer relations to the staff at some fancy hotels I know of. The room was a queen suite. The carpet was worn down to the sub-floor in front of the bathroom, the wallpaper looked a bit tired, but the room was very clean. The furnishings were fitted European-style; platform bed with built-in bedstands. Oddly, the wall behind the bed is completely mirrored, and there is fluorescent bar above the bed in place of side lamps. That took a little getting used to. There was not a piece of fruit in sight at the breakfast bar, which included packaged sweet rolls and a number of high-sugar cereals. But since the room had a very nice little kitchenette with a refrigerator and microwave, we brought our own food along and did just fine. We were delighted to learn that these folks do not kid around when it comes to their no-smoking policy! They charge you $100.00 if your room smells like smoke after you check out, and put rooms through an extensive cleaning process if this happens. This hotel is good for anyone who needs no-frills accommodations for an extended stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff K, General Manager at Quality Inn and Suites Bristol, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we will use your comments to try and further improve upon our commitment to excellence. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Even after reading the numerous positive reviews we were a tiny bit hesitant to stay here. But, we were meeting my sister and her husband and they had booked their room here. So, we decided to "give it a try".

Wow, what a great surprise! The room was clean and spacious enough > We reserved on of the "suites".

The staff was friendly and professional and we really wanted for nothing. The free breakfast was also really good considering the room rate was so affordable.

One tip: Be sure to show your Microtel Room key across the street at Perkins for a discount off your check there. Really makes the stay all the more positive.

Room Tip: Be sure to get one of the suites. The rate is not all that much more but the extra space is wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Clean, functional value inn right beside I81 at Virgina/Tennessee border. Perfect for one night stop. Excellent value - includes basic breakfast which can be supplemented by great muffins from bakery across the road.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Microtel, Bristol, Va on December 16th, 2011. I am handicapped and had requested a first floor room near the lobby, no smoking. When we arrived I was informed that I had to take a room on the third floor since they had a group of ball players there from a high school. I could have taken the elevator if it had been working. Instead I had to climb 3 flights of stairs using my cane. After 25 minutes I was able to reach the top. Once we arrived in the room we were shocked at the filth of the room. The carpet was soiled and ripped, the window seat had stains that I don't think could every come out. It needs to be replaced. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. Everything was dirty. We called the front desk to tell them the room was unsatisfactory. They offered us to go go another hotel. Of course I would have to climb down three flights of stairs again. We declined. The elevator did eventually get fixed but by that time I was totally exhausted and could not even contemplate leaving the room. We went to bed. Forget getting a good nights sleep. The pillows were like sleeping on bricks. I have to say this is the worst experience ever in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We enjoy stopping at Microtels on our annual trips across the eastern US. This one was great. We checked in late, at 11:30pm, with no issues, and both front desk clerks, in the evening and morning, were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet and provided a surprisingly hearty breakfast, compared to other Microtels and similar inns at this price point, with toasted bagels, coffee, milk, cereal, muffins, and the like. The place was pretty cozy. My only complaint is that, even though we were in a non-smoking room, I had to adjust for the first five minutes - the room had clearly been used by smoking guests in the past. However, it was not too bad. The hotel is convenient to the highway and surrounded by breakfast options, as well. We will definitely stay here again. Easy, convenient, clean, and friendly! I love the Microtel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn and Suites Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites Bristol

Address: 131 Bristol East Road, Bristol, VA 24202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Bristol
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn and Suites Bristol 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Quality Inn and Suites Bristol is a quality discount hotel in Bristol, Virginia near the Bristol Motor Speedway and Dragway, King and Virginia Intermont Colleges, the Tri Cities Regional Airport and the Virginia Highlands Airport. The Microtel Inn and Suites Bristol is conveniently located off I-81 at Exit 7 adjacent to the Perkins Family Restaurant. The Bristol Motor Speedway and Dragway is only twelve miles away and King College, Virginia Intermont College, Virginia Highlands Airport and area businesses are all within five miles of this hotel. If you are hungry, you will find IHOP, O'Charleys, Outback Steakhouse, Cracker Barrel and many other restaurants nearby. All rooms and suites feature queen sized beds, a well lit work desk, cable TV, AM and FM alarm clock radio as well as a cozy bay window seat. Suites feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and sofa bed. Our ADA approved rooms include a fully accessible bathroom and a roll in shower. Coming soon we will be upgrading our bedding to include a plush pillow top or thick mattress topper, cozy down like comforter, higher thread count linens and extra pillows. Our hotel staff is ready to lend assistance, offer information, directions and help you feel at home. Always count on us for a friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Bristol Hotel Bristol
Microtel Bristol
Bristol Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn and Suites Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.