We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgewater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours
Save Saved
You added Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours to your Saves list
11 Pops Lane, Bridgewater, VA 22812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bridgewater B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this B&B the end of June for a family reunion in the area. It was perfect and so were Dixie and Scott. The rooms were great and the beds were wonderful. Our room (Blue) was like "being at home". So much attention to detail. The breakfasts were incredible and couldn't believe our evening snacks. If we were out, they would leave our snack in our room with ice water carafe (we were there during the heat wave) and the big storm that put everyone out of electricity but we were fortunate and never lost electricity! Scott took us on the wine tour and that was very interesting. We learned a lot about the wineries in the area. Dixie's lunch was amazing and we enjoyed the beautiful scenery as we dined on gourmet delicacies. It was nice to enjoy a glass of wine with Dixie and Scott on their back patio and get to know each other better. They were both so hospitable and such great innkeepers - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thistle Ridge is located on a quiet country road in Bridgewater. The location and scenery were very peaceful.

Upon arriving, Scott and Dixie (innkeepers) welcomed us in and made us feel very comfortable. They showed us to our room (Blue cottage) & informed us to check back in the main house at 8pm each night for yummy snacks and a pitcher of nice cold ice water (it was hot out!). Dixie made a homemade cake the first day and cookies the next (yum!). For our convenience (in the main house), there was a stocked mini fridge with drinks, a basket with treats, and a hot pot to make hot tea, if we wanted to.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a king-sized bed with a very comfy (not too hard nor soft) mattress. The linens were soft & the bedding accented the room well. There were nice little touches everywhere we looked - including the little fireplace in our room.

The bathroom offered a decent-sized two-person tub. That room, too, was nicely decorated.

At night, my husband and I would sit in the main house, enjoy a glass of wine, and play cards. Very homey and comfy.

We did not have cable, though we drove a few miles downtown and grabbed movies from Redbox.

The B & B does have internet.

Recommendation for a good place to eat dinner...Francesco's on the main street in Bridgewater. Very good!

Dixie made a wonderful breakfast both mornings we were there. No one leaves hungry!

If you are looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing, country getaway run by very nice people, this place comes highly recommended. Enjoy!

Room Tip: They have three rooms available. We stayed in the Blue Room which was wonderful. We spoke with the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B, and after this experience we will definitely be staying in more . . . and returning to this one! The rooms are immaculately clean and comfortable and make you feel at home. Dixie and Scott are great hosts and were very attentive to our questions, made AMAZING breakfast each day, and were good tour guides for the area. Their daughter, Brittany, was also a fantastic tour guide when we did the winery tour -- definitely worth the time, and again Dixie sent along an amazing lunch! You are a little "out of the way" at Thistle Ridge, but it is a nice break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. There is plenty to do around the area, including wineries, Shenandoah National Park (only 30 minutes away), and cute little towns so you can find something if the quiet is too much. This is definitely worth the stay, and we will return!

Room Tip: You won't find a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in early June. The Blue room was comfortable and not over-done, the food was excellent, and the property and its menagerie of animals were very pleasant. The first night we were there, we walked down the road at sunset and enjoyed the beautiful view. The best selling point is the atmosphere - this is not a stuffy place. Dixie and Scott are real people who truly care about their business, not innkeepers who simply do the owner's bidding. They seemed to genuinely enjoy having conversations with us and the other guests while we were there. On our second evening we invited them to join us on the front porch for a glass of wine, and I swear it felt like we were visiting with good friends. I am not the most well-versed B&B vacationer, but I have a feeling that Thistle Ridge is a unique experience. We will definitely be returning in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I'd like to first start by saying this review is well overdue! My boyfriend and I stayed at Thistle Ridge in mid-May. We had a great time being away from the craziness of our everyday lives! We stayed in the beautiful blue room that was such nicely decorated with cute things all over the place. I would have to say that the beautiful and delicious breakfasts made by Dixie was one of my favorite things of the B&B along with the cute snacks she left out for us at night! Furthermore, the variety of animals (cats, dogs, sheep, horses, chickens, goats, and llamas!) that they have on their property added to the wonderful experience. I definitely felt like I was in a country getaway! We had the pleasure of being escorted by Scott to 4 different wineries where we were able to enjoy a cute picnic basket lunch (provided by Scott and Dixie) as well as try the assortment of different wines! We enjoyed it so much that we came home with 7 bottles! If you want to relax and get away from your busy life, this is the place to go! Scott and Dixie are the greatest hosts!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our stay at Thistle Ridge was so relaxing. Dixie and Scott are great hosts. They will do anything in their power to make your stay perfect.
Our room (the Green room) was very comfortable and the bed was great! It was a King sized slay bed. Full sized pillows, not those 10"x10" hotel marshmellows. Breakfast was a 2 course MEAL, not just coffee, juice and pastries. Some of the items we had were; Strawberry and Blueberry Fruit Parfey, Blueberry Pancakes loaded with blueberries, a wonderful Goat Cheese, Cranberry & Orange zest spread, Hashbrown Casserole, an Egg Casserole. Dixie is a great cook! Each night there was a snack and ice water. And in the morning Coffee was always ready. My husband and I reccomend this to anyone who need to Escape and Relax.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. We stayed in the Green room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Thistle Ridge was my first BnB stay. I read all the reviews and figured I couldn't lose right? It was absolutely amazing. Scott and Dixie are beautiful hosts, our room was immaculate and comfortable. (I want the bed!!) The food was beyond delicious, there has clearly been a lot of time and energy spent in making sure everything is done to a very high standard. The wineries were wonderful, Scott and Dixie picked a nice array of different styles and we enjoyed ourselves tremendously. The lunch during our day of wine tours was amazing. We are already planning a second trip back and adding one more night to be able to explore the area, there is so much to see and do! We can't wait to come back (I want more blueberry pancakes!!)

Room Tip: We only stayed in the blue room, but it is like a one room cottage...it was absolutely perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours

Address: 11 Pops Lane, Bridgewater, VA 22812
Location: United States > Virginia > Bridgewater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgewater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic getaway in the Shenandoah Valley. Quiet, peaceful property near nature, colleges, golf, skiing, and wineries. Chauffeured winery tours available and Virginia wine on premises. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Ridge Bed & Breakfast & Winery Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.