We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Fever Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

L’Auberge Provencale provides an ideal get away spot just miles from the DC Metro area. This was the first such excursion for our party of six so it was special for all of us. Owners Celeste and Alain Borel were gracious and warm in their welcome and made us feel right at home. The suites/rooms were well appointed and provided all of the amenities that made our stay extremely comfortable. The beds were perfect! We especially enjoyed the steam showers available in each suite/room. The scenic countryside, the quaint buildings, the beautiful suites/rooms, and the SUPERB food were enjoyed by all in our party. Three in our party opted for the five course offerings and three of us chose the "Chef's Sampler" which included wine parings for each of the eight courses. What an unforgettable experience; a four hour fantasy trip through the best of France. Even though a bit pricey for an over night stay, our entire party thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would highly recommend L'Auberge Provencale. The entire staff is fantastic and detail oriented.

Room Tip: Although the suites provide a fireplace and separate seating area, the rooms are just as comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
It was great to have you here at L'Auberge Provencale. I am glad we were able to give you a touch of France for the evening. We are especially glad you enjoyed your dinner as we are so happy Chef Scott Myers is back at the helm of the kitchen with a great team of chefs.
Next time you need a break, come back and see us here at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    31
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
217
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephens CIty, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The inn is divine. The rooms transport you to France. The food is divine. Every detail is attended to by delightful employees. Celebrate our great events here. Nothing is better than their eggs benedict. They use the freshest local ingredients. My mom had a deconstructed lemon meringue which was absolutely divine. Location is so peaceful. Great place to escape.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much from myself and our staff here at L'Auberge Provencale. A review on Trip Advisor is always important to our business and we appreciate you taking the time from the hectic world.
We are preparing for summer now here at the inn. The gardens are flourishing with fresh vegetables and herbs. The orchards are bursting. We work hard to ensure our guests get the freshest and best of the season.
Guests like you and your mom make being an innkeeper really worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

When it comes to where we will go to celebrate our anniversary or for just a special holiday, this is the place we often choose. It is a wonderful B&B in White Post VA. You feel as if you are truly in Provence while enjoying the hills and fields of the Shenandoah Valley. There is so much to do in the area, from driving through the shenandoah mountains, touring vinyards or shopping for antiques. ...or just enjoying the atmosphere on their property.

There are 11 beautifully decorated rooms and suites, most of which have working fireplaces. Our favorite rooms being #9 and #10.

Breakfast, served in their inviting sunroom, comes with the price of the room and is always something to look forward to. One day you might get their "homemade" sausage with eggs and fruit done in their own special way. You never get the same thing two days in a row! Truly delicious!

The dining room serves 3 or 5 course gourmet meals featuring delicious French cuisine and wine. Most of their vegetables are grown on the propertywith other items bought from local farms..

They often have packages with a theme that might be a little less expensive than their normal rates. They are always willing to accomadate you with a special picnic lunch or meal in your room.

The main lounge always has a fire going with hot cider or chocolate awaiting you in the winter. It is a cozy place to meet other guests that are staying there.

The owners, Celeste and Alain Borel make sure that everything is perfect for your stay. The rest of the staff are always helpful and pleasant. We definitly will be returning to this wonderful place!

Room Tip: We have never stayed in the main house. Be ready to take a short walk from your room to the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed one night as part of my wife's and I winery swing around the state. Booked room #7 which was a large two room suite, large outdoor deck and came with a steam shower for two! The steam shower was terrific, start the steam to get it up to speed and then turn on the water for one great experience. Food was excellent. Rate of $325, including breakfast, a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Room 7 in the main house is large, great outdoor deck, electric fireplace and steam shower for 2C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Several years ago my husband and I stayed at the L’Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast and wanted to come back and enjoy the experience all over again! Originally we stayed in room #8 (lovely!) and this time we stayed in suite #7 (in the main house). It is a lovely room with an adjoining sitting room, a great place to relax and read for the afternoon. The space was luxurious, warm and cozy. The fireplace was definitely nice on a cold night. It surely feels like a room in a little villa in the south of France. It was perfect for a little romantic weekend getaway! I am only sad my husband was born in February preventing us from really enjoying the balcony (too cold and sadly raining that day). The views are beautiful and the location cannot be beat – a nice escape without being too far away.

Breakfast is served between 8 and 930am in the Sunny Peach Room. There is a small buffet of simple things like yogurt, cereal, breads (there was a pistachio fig bread was to.die.for.) and juice and then daily there is a different hot breakfast served to your table – we had lovely Eggs Benedict. Again the service was perfect, the breakfast manager was cheerful and attentive without overly being so (we are not super morning people so this was deeply appreciated).

Both times we ordered the gourmet lunch basket and we were not disappointed! With so many wineries in the area, as well as the state arboretum, it is lovely to do a luncheon with your love and continue the L’Auberge experience. I hope that we will be back in the spring and have schedules that allow for a day or two more since it is definitely an indulgence worth having! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My mother arranged for her, her adult children and spouses to stay the weekend and we couldn't have asked for a more wondeful location for an adults only family gathering. Service was spectacular, food so wonderful we almost didn't leave the place and we had one of the guest houses to ouselves. And the location is just beautiful. We so enjoyed ourselves we returned in Feb, with the next generation for a 90th birthday celebration dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived, my wife and I felt like we had escaped our daily reality and were transported to the south of France. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed an overnight stay at the inn and a delightful, delicious dinner next to a roaring fire. Breakfast was served in a bright, sun-lit room filled with bright colors and a distinctly French decor. And the presentation of the food--ooh la la! The friendly owners and staff, and attention to detail throughout our stay--from the tea selection in our cozy room to the incredible French cuisine at dinner and breakfast--makes it easy to understand why this is one of the most highly rated B&Bs in the country. We left after one day feeling pampered and refreshed and (almost) ready to return to our normal daily routine of work, kids, and carpools! L'Auberge Provencale is a special, enchanting retreat. C'est tres magnifique!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce
l`Auberge Provencale b&b
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel
Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. The resident master chef at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 900 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.