We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Virginia Wine Crush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Virginia Wine Crush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just east of Winchester, this is a great bead and breakfast. The bed portion is very nice - the rooms are very comfortable and each is different. Our room was just off a very nice herb garden and very relaxing. No television in the room adds to the relaxing atmosphere. Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. Food good and the server was very attentive and very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed our wine crush special this fall. We are now starting into the solitude of winter and will be posting some great getaways for our DC fans. Hopefully you will be able to partake in one of our winter specials.
I am glad you enjoyed the food and service, as we strive to meet each guests expectations. Thank you for the kind words about our inn and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    32
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
236
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here one night. We had a room in the main house. Room was very nice, spacious, well furnished. The only negative was that the inn is close to a fairly busy highway so there is some highway noise, but not enough to be a big issue. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The owners were very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to have you there. We will return if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We experienced your restaurant for the 1st time and cannot praise you enough for such a wonderful Anniversary dinner celebration! The food was very well done with a combination of flavors second to none. The scallops just melted in our mouths and I have never experienced lamb so tender!

The service and atmosphere was impeccable! Fresh flowers adorning the tables along with the perfectly sunny textiles gave the candlelit room a cherry glow! Service flowed like a well synchronized dance with pleasant staff and unobtrusive attention to detail.

We will definitely be back, even if it isn’t for a special celebration. Thank you for such a wonderful night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Va
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at L'Auberge Provencale Sept. 15, 2012, for our 15th anniversary, seeking restfulness, a culinary adventure, a bit of Virginia history and yes, some luxury.

We got all that and more. We were quickly directed from the main house to a villa about .5 miles away and were pleasantly surprised. Both properties are delightful, with abundant places to sit, sip, swim and/or chat. French country decor throughout, with statuary and thoughtful touches.

Our room at the villa (#17) was just lovely - a big bedroom with bed, chaise lounge and fluffy robes, and a huge bathroom with claw-foot tub attached.

We headed back to the main house for dinner and it was hands-down the best we've ever had (also the most expensive! Bill: $270 including tip). We began with cocktails on the wide front porch, gazing at the mountains and marveling at the train that passed across the landscape as the sun went down.

Inside, my husband got the chef's tasting menu, while I got three three-course meal. It was a long dinner, but every plate that came out had a taste and texture combination that was new to us. Fantastic scallops and steak. Amazing risotto. Delightful cheese plate.

Back to the villa at 11 p.m., at which point I took a bath in the huge tub. Husband zzzzzzzz.......

Breakfast was a delicious quiche with homemade granola and yogurt. I read the paper by the pool, accompanied by one of the owner's two dogs, Bernadette. What a character.

Perfect, playful end to a delightful getaway. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a two-night stay here last week that included two fabulous dinners and two innovative breakfasts. The food here is absolutely first-rate and the wine list, which I believe was built by Celeste, has many wonderful selections. They hold the "Best of Award of Excellence" from Wine Spectator, one of less than 900 locations on the planet.

The breakfasts deserve a special compliment...one included duck breast and the other pork loin as the meat.

If you live within four or five hours of Boyce, Virginia, and you want a romantic food-centric getaway, L'Auberge is worth the trip.

Room Tip: We were in Suite 1 which is spacious and conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I have been coming here through our entire relationship, from our first trip tgther through our engagement to our pregnancy with our daughter. We have never been dissapointed.

The rooms with steam showers are amazing and quit relaxing, comfy beds and the extras they provide are always wonderful.

The gourmet picnic baskets are the best! I have severe food allergies and they always accommodate me. One basket included lobster salad along with with steak and avocado sandwhiches! They even arranged a canoe trip for us to take our lunch on.

They are centrally located to great vineyards to spend the day at. The staff always remembers us when we come back. And the breakfasts have always been outstanding! We have never had dinner in the restaurant though. When I was pregnant they sent us up a small dinner to the room since I wasn't feeling well.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Engagements, Marriage and now a baby! We are happy to have been such a nice part of your life! Maybe, on a special anniversary you can try the dinners. That is what we definitely are about! A gourmet picnic is pretty yummy too, I must say.
And as noted we are always happy to accommodate any allergies or food restrictions for all of our guests here at L'auberge Provencale! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here in Suite 11. This place is so special. We felt we were in the French countryside! The staff is so nice and friendly, particularly Celeste and Jamie. The restaurant is worth trying at least one night and our suite was beautifully decorated, big, and romantic. Breakfast was a dream; it was our favorite and we were always greeted with a smile from Jamie. The place is also close to wineries, horseback riding, and other activities. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi, this is from Celeste. I am really glad you enjoyed your time here at our little touch of Provence! Jamie and I enjoyed having you here at L'Auberge Provencale. We are glad that you found your suite and the food up to a 5 rating which is what we strive and work hard for. We care about our guests experience and are certainly glad you had a fun time! Come in the winter for one of our cozy winter specials to cuddle up by the fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. Executive Chef Joseph Watters at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 1,000 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce
l`Auberge Provencale b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;