We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Leonardtown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great romantic get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I have been coming here through our entire relationship, from our first trip tgther through our engagement to our pregnancy with our daughter. We have never been dissapointed.

The rooms with steam showers are amazing and quit relaxing, comfy beds and the extras they provide are always wonderful.

The gourmet picnic baskets are the best! I have severe food allergies and they always accommodate me. One basket included lobster salad along with with steak and avocado sandwhiches! They even arranged a canoe trip for us to take our lunch on.

They are centrally located to great vineyards to spend the day at. The staff always remembers us when we come back. And the breakfasts have always been outstanding! We have never had dinner in the restaurant though. When I was pregnant they sent us up a small dinner to the room since I wasn't feeling well.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Engagements, Marriage and now a baby! We are happy to have been such a nice part of your life! Maybe, on a special anniversary you can try the dinners. That is what we definitely are about! A gourmet picnic is pretty yummy too, I must say.
And as noted we are always happy to accommodate any allergies or food restrictions for all of our guests here at L'auberge Provencale! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    32
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
240
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed here in Suite 11. This place is so special. We felt we were in the French countryside! The staff is so nice and friendly, particularly Celeste and Jamie. The restaurant is worth trying at least one night and our suite was beautifully decorated, big, and romantic. Breakfast was a dream; it was our favorite and we were always greeted with a smile from Jamie. The place is also close to wineries, horseback riding, and other activities. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi, this is from Celeste. I am really glad you enjoyed your time here at our little touch of Provence! Jamie and I enjoyed having you here at L'Auberge Provencale. We are glad that you found your suite and the food up to a 5 rating which is what we strive and work hard for. We care about our guests experience and are certainly glad you had a fun time! Come in the winter for one of our cozy winter specials to cuddle up by the fire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at L'Auberge Provencale in early July. The building is quite old, but the rooms have been decorated tastefully and with attention to detail. We felt that the manager's attitude was one of arrogance when he greeted us and when he showed us to our room. The remaining staff were much more pleasant, yet still rather "stuffy". Our dinners were well prepared but quite expensive when compared with others we had enjoyed on this trip. The delicious buffet breakfast included ample offerings as well as a hot entree. Overall, we felt it was too expensive an experience and seriously doubt we would return if revisiting this area of Virginia.

Room Tip: Plan to spend a lot of money for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
The "manager" is no longer with us at this time. If anyone greeted our customers with arrogance we do indeed apologize. Alain, Christian, myself and the rest of our staff are courteous and nice people. I am very puzzled that the impression was "stuffy" from the rest of the staff.
At L'Auberge Provencale we use only the very best of ingredients in our cuisine. That translates into higher food costs. Our scallops are diver "day boat", and all of our fish is wild and line caught. It is shipped to us in some of the most beautiful boxes you have ever seen overnight by Fed Ex. The fish is caught at 4:00 today and will arrive tomorrow morning by 10:00. Our Kobe/Angus, Wagyu Beef is $24.95 a pound now. The rest of our meats are bought locally to support local farmers and are raised impeccably at a much higher cost then what you buy in a grocery store. All the gourmet items, including the olive oils, vinegar, and spices are top notch. And we pay our chefs very, very well.
One has to expect a higher cost for the quality of ingredients. It is very hard these days with the rising cost of energy and food (two things not counted in inflation) for us to make a small profit.
Our staff is professional and nice people who work hard and need a living wage. We are a low volume, high end experience for the discerning traveler.
Hopefully, if you do a return visit you will be greeted with a smile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I recently visited for the second time and this time surpassed our expectations -- once again. This time we stayed at Villa Capanette. Our room (#13) was cheerful, spacious and overlooked the meadow. The Villa has a beautiful pool which was very welcome with the heat. Breakfast was served around the pool the next morning. On our previous visit (February), we stayed at the main Inn. The room was again beautiful, spacious and had the most exquisite bathtub. The meals at L'Auberge are divine - from the full breakfast (our first morning five courses including peach panna cotta and second morning an incredible eggs benedict) to the dinners (which defy written description here except to say that EVERYTHING is worth having. If you stay two nights, you must go there both nights so that you can plan your next night. The grounds are beautiful with many spots to just sit and take in the countryside. Day trips include Winchester and wineries. Celeste, Alain and Christian are wonderful hosts for an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We enjoyed #13 at the Villa (overlooking the meadow) in July and the pool was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
They say that Virginia is for lovers, well you two were the perfect loving couple. We enjoyed helping with your year long "honeymoon" and am glad you returned for another visit to L'Auberge Provencale! Thanks for the beautiful pictures as well.
We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Everything was impeccable, the rooms are clean, very tastefully decorated and welcoming, giving you the feeling you are actually in France. The grounds are well taken care of, with a beautiful garden and flower beds in front of each room. They also have their own herb and vegetable garden, a large porch in front of the house, and a patio area outside the restaurant, refreshments and pastries for the guests.

Dinner was amazing, both in terms of plating as well as taste. We tried the three-course menu for one person and the five-course menu for the other and split everything. It's the kind of food you have to savor slowly paying attention to every taste and texture. It may seem a bit pricey, but the executive chef does an amazing job. We heard him explain to someone that he personally picks the ingredients for each day's menu, so everything is fresh. The service was outstanding, better than at any other restaurant we had been to before. Wine is expensive.

Breakfast was cooked by one of the owners, who is French, and was delicious.

What impressed us the most was the attention to detail in every category. You cannot stay/dine here and not notice the effort that goes into ensuring you, as a guest, feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Spent one night and would love to go back for more. It was a beautiful place with great staff and a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. The staff and myself, are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps next time you can make your getaway a little longer so you can really get a chance to relax and enjoy the Shenandoah Valley. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We received a one-day gift certificate for L'Auberge and stayed for a special package--2 nights and get the 3rd free. This was an exceptional value and we were so glad that we had those extra days. We chose to stay at the Villa La Campagnette which is about 3 miles down the road. The gardens and pool were heavenly and the countryside peaceful and gorgeous! It was worth the stay just to have the delicious and generous gourmet breakfasts served at poolside! The large room had an attached sitting room--both comfortable and cozy.There were cookies, fresh fruit, and lemonade available in the dining room throughout the day, along with soft drinks and water in the pool area.The area surrounding the inn had many activities to enjoy when not relaxing at the pool or in the room. We enjoyed touring Virginia wineries, walking the roads/paths of the state arboretum and hiking up to the Appalachian Trail. The innkeepers were friendly and informative; the staff at the restaurant were attentive and efficient; the housekeeping staff were nice and friendly. All in all, we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning to experience a different season in the Virginia countryside and to feast on more local fare prepared with elegance and fabulous flavors!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at L'auberge Provencale. Not only to hear about the inn, but also, to hear that you really enjoyed the local area of the Shenandoah Valley. We are truly blessed to have such a wonderful place to be, with the proximity of some of Virginia's best wineries, the State Arboretum, Skyline Drive, and great hiking. Also, just lazing by the pool can be a welcome respite from the otherwise hectic world.
If you come in the fall you can enjoy the changing of the leaves, the harvest of grapes, and crackling of a nice fire in your room. Crisp air and warm and cozy nights by our outside fire pit. S'mores?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Highway, Boyce, VA 22620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast, a Select Registry Property, in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. Executive Chef Joseph Watters at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 1,000 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale b&b
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.