We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear's Den Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluemont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear's Den Hostel
Save
You added Bear's Den Hostel to your Saves list
18393 Blueridge Mountain Road, Bluemont, VA 20135   |  
Hotel amenities
Salina, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed one night while hiking the A.T. Staff is very accommodating, place is beautiful! Ice Cream, Pizza, Soda, Pancakes.

The view of the sunset is an astonishing and wonderful view.

Recommended for all thru hikers to stop and visit!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed one night at the Bear's Den while hiking the AT. There are many options available to guests: pitching your tent in the yard, sleeping on a bunk bed in a few different areas (including what I heard termed "the women's room"), a private cottage, and a private room with your own shower/toilet. Built in the 30's out of stone, it is just beautiful and unique. A full kitchen with 2 full size ovens, microwave, coffee maker and a mix of food items and spices, pots, and pans. We enjoyed the hiker's special! And in the morning we were able to cook up some pancakes!
The sitting area had a piano and guitar and in general a nice gathering spot. A separate dining area provided a relaxing communal atmosphere.
The hosts were welcoming and shared a lot of the den's history. Some food items available for purchase in the area where one registers. Posted on the fridge was a nearby restaurant that offers shuttle service to and from--we did not use this as our stay was short.
We watched a lovely sunset at the Rocks. It was a great place to stop, get some laundry done, shower, and just relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights while backpacking on the Appalachian Trail. It is about 100 yards from the AT so easy to find. For $30 you get a frozen pizza, soda, and pint of Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream, plus a bunkbed to sleep on. Laundry machine and a place to hang out. Bear's Den Rocks view at sunset is famous. Nice, new managers wife Dana and husband Johnny. Queen Diva visited and brought dinner 2 nights in a row for free - wow. Full of thru-hikers of all types and a few bicyclists. Nothing to do nearby within walking distance. Peace and quiet is what you get here, and it was just fine with me. Built in 1920s as a home, solid stone with backwoods feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Patrice and Justin provide a pleasant retreat for this section hiker. The den is exceptionally clean and well organized. The Den has everything a hiker needs, including utensils for meals, sitting areas with piano and a rocker, and a huge dining room. A shower and bargain pizza plus ice cream address basic needs. Our visit was delightful.




  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bear's Den Cabin/Cottage that is maintained by the family at Bear's Den Hostel. There were two space heaters, a wood burning fireplace, and a wood burning stove that were on for entire weekend. The first night was almost unbearably cold. After calling the hostel they gave us the option of spending more time in the hostel where it was warmer. I think the wife must've received more information about the cabin because she called us back later to let us know that there was an electronic blower for the fireplace that we plug in and turn on. This helped to keep the place a couple of degrees warmer. It would've been really helpful if some of these aspects of the cabin had been detailed for us, in writing, when we arrived (common practice among PATC cabins). The amenties the cabin listed i.e. two burner hotplate and refrigerator didn't work. Everything that needed refrigeration was put in the freezer (although it was so cold we could've just left it on the floor of the cottage), and one of the burners only heated up slightly where the other one shut off when it reached maximum heat. The running water outside was shut off, understandably, so the pipes wouldn't freeze. The lack of water made the woman's request that we mop before leaving, even more inappropriate, since the place was very dirty when we arrived. There was mouse poop over the utensils and dishware, the counters were dirty, and the floor had to be reswept.

We had to request that wood be delivered and then when the truckload arrived they wanted our help unloading. Their preparation for our arrival seemed very poor. It was annoying that they would only drop off wood at the bottom of the hill when the woodpile was supposed to be out the back door. We made a few precarious trips quite late and in the early morning, to restock our indoor supply - we went through a lot of wood as we tried to keep the temperature of the cabin bearable for our stay.

The cabin itself was pretty, but I'd recommend visiting in warmer weather and keep your expectations low with regards to things working and having everything you need to cook with (unlike other cabins managed by PATC). Loads of vineyards in the area make for a great day trips.

This was our 5th trip since Jan 2011 to stay with a cabin managed by PATC and this was the only one we have been disappointed with.

Lastly, this place isn't well marked. When you get to the parking area there isn't a sign pointing you in the direction of the cabin. Also, if you opt to go on the Spout Run hike there is no way to identify when you've actually gotten there. I still don't know if Spout Run was the first stream we encountered, the 2nd, or the 3rd.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Great place, nice location, great stop for lunch or a snack on a hike. Provides good rates for thru-hikers, a rentable house for a family, good cooking, friendly atmosphere.

  • Liked — Lounge area, proximity to Appalachian Trail, secluded from real word
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2003

Bears Den is a really beautiful place. A huge stone cabin in the middle
of the woods. It's next to the Appalachian trail. I stayed in the group
bunk bed room for $15, but I think there is a private room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear's Den Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den Hostel

Address: 18393 Blueridge Mountain Road, Bluemont, VA 20135
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Bluemont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bluemont
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear's Den Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.