We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, good wines, fantastic pizza, nice dogs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloxom Winery

Bloxom Winery
26130 Mason Road, Bloxom, VA 23308
(757) 665-5670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Bloxom
Attraction details
Danville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, good wines, fantastic pizza, nice dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a lovely afternoon at Bloxom Winery. We enjoyed the tasting, but especially enjoyed a bottle of chardonnay on the patio with pizzas, and visiting with the dogs. (Our dog was welcome there, too - a big plus!) The view of the vineyard and flowers all around the patio were just gorgeous. The owners were friendly and accommodating. We will be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A true gem on the Eastern Shore of Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

What real treat to visit this winery! This place beats some of the older establishments I have visited in the interior of Virginia. The vineyard is very well maintained. The wine tasting area and cafe are very nicely appointed (immaculate restroom), nice patio area, friendly staff, excellent cabernet franc and blush, merlot, and the pizza is FANTASTIC ---- hot, fresh, and delicious from the wood-fired brick oven on the patio. Can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Setting 10 Wine 2”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is the third winery my family has visited on the Eastern Shore and by far its setting was the best. There was a lovely covered area with tables outside and indoor seating as well. We called ahead to see if we could have a picnic there prior to tasting the wines and were given permission by the owners; therefore, the covered area was perfect for our family picnic. We also observed others who also came and brought their own food and purchased glasses of wine to enjoy with their meals as well. I'm not a fan of animals so I was glad that the two dogs on the property minded their own business.

After lunch the adults in my party participated in a wine tasting (50 cents per tasting). Of the three wineries on the Eastern Shore, Bloxom's wine was by far the worst. It wasn't helped by the gruff demeanor of the winery owner.

Overall, I'd say you could skip this one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford DE
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice small winery. Don't have a large selection of wines, but what we tried were good. Only 50 cents for each tasting. Thought that was reasonable. Cook pizzas in a wood fired oven on weekends. Will be back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely picnic area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family visited this winery during our recent family reunion. The owner said it was ok for us to picnic there before the tasting. The outside area was covered with plenty of tables and space. One couple was also there with food. Two dogs were wondering around, but didn't bother us. Just seemed to check us out then laid down. Afterwards we went inside for the tasting. We tasted 5 wines, most of which were dry. The wines were ok but owner wasn't very open or informative, like other 2 wineries on Eastern Shore we had visited. Cost of tasting was 50 cents per wine per person. I would definitely recommend other wineries (Holly Grove and Chatham) over this one if you only go to one.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bloxom Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloxom Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.