We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
922 University City Blvd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
+1 540-953-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 110 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Always good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Macados is always a good bet for good food! The atmosphere is good, the price is good. Always recommend macados to friends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    52
    23
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Was visiting VT on business with a colleague and called in here one evening on a recommendation. We were not disappointed! The interior and atmosphere is really cool, and our waitress (Kami) was absolutely brilliant, very polite, fast and efficient. The Ziegfield sandwich and a pint of Devils backbone is definitely the way to go. Excellent food and a good price...and just up the road from VT. Definitely try this place if you haven't already.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Used to go here a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When I lived in B-Burg, I used to go Macado's at least monthly -- it's a great date spot for college kids who don't have much money and want a decent meal in kind of a cool, kitschy spot. They have about 75 different sandwiches on the menu and you can pretty much get any sandwich on any kind of bread you want. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best sandwich place, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

In America, you have your Subways, your Firehouses, your Which Wiches............all of those are pretty good (well, Subway doesn't use fresh ingredients anymore so meh), and THEN there is MACADOS.

The variety is huge, any type of sandwich you probably want, they have. If they don't have what you're looking for, then go to the grocery store and buy a loaf and bread and some PB & J (just kidding, you can create your own sandwich, too).

I highly recommend getting the salsa con queso dip. It will put some fine mexican restaurants to shame.....it's that delicious.

Finally, top off your meal and stuff your face with one of their fabulous desserts. I recommend the Pop's Sundae Supreme. You won't be sorry, go ahead and order it, and the salsa con queso, and perhaps a sandwich or two. Matter of fact, order two, one to eat now, and one to stuff in your pocket for later. They're that good! Shout out to the Huttons, we always try to eat with them when we're in town ;o)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Macado's is a "must do" when I am back visiting Blacksburg. I always enjoy their creative sandwiches, they have good happy hour specials daily, and the service is friendly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macado's also viewed

 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.