We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to go here a lot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
922 University City Blvd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
+1 540-953-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 109 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Bar, Sandwiches, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Used to go here a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When I lived in B-Burg, I used to go Macado's at least monthly -- it's a great date spot for college kids who don't have much money and want a decent meal in kind of a cool, kitschy spot. They have about 75 different sandwiches on the menu and you can pretty much get any sandwich on any kind of bread you want. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    51
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best sandwich place, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

In America, you have your Subways, your Firehouses, your Which Wiches............all of those are pretty good (well, Subway doesn't use fresh ingredients anymore so meh), and THEN there is MACADOS.

The variety is huge, any type of sandwich you probably want, they have. If they don't have what you're looking for, then go to the grocery store and buy a loaf and bread and some PB & J (just kidding, you can create your own sandwich, too).

I highly recommend getting the salsa con queso dip. It will put some fine mexican restaurants to shame.....it's that delicious.

Finally, top off your meal and stuff your face with one of their fabulous desserts. I recommend the Pop's Sundae Supreme. You won't be sorry, go ahead and order it, and the salsa con queso, and perhaps a sandwich or two. Matter of fact, order two, one to eat now, and one to stuff in your pocket for later. They're that good! Shout out to the Huttons, we always try to eat with them when we're in town ;o)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good food, great service, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Macado's is a "must do" when I am back visiting Blacksburg. I always enjoy their creative sandwiches, they have good happy hour specials daily, and the service is friendly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food. Creepy decor. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband & I came by after a late morning workout. We were immediately interested in the variety of odd, slightly creepy decor (check out the white rabbit in clerical attire carrying a globe or the man riding the pterodactyl). The menu was large and somewhat ambitious, but when the food finally came out it exceeded our expectations. Still the service was quite slow. We had ask for them to take the credit card after bringing the bill and were never quite clear on who our waitress was. Probably won't come here again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good food, fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I was passing through the are and decided to stop and visit friends, they took us to this place, easy to find, the waiter and staff was very nice, the food came out quick and hot, the inside has a lot of odd props to look at, they fit in a collage town. Goof visit.

Plenty of TV's to watch the games

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.