We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant in a college town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

Macado's
922 University City Blvd, Blacksburg, VA 24060
(540) 953-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant in a college town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a small chain of restaurants located primarily in college towns in Virginia and North Carolina. The Blacksburg location is very nice, about a mile or so from Virginia Tech's campus. The food was good and the atmosphere was really nice. No wait on a summer Saturday evening (might be different when the students are in town).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    34
    42
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

2013 Virginia Tech move-in and found Macado's a short walk from our hotel. Our server, Ellie, was above and beyond any server we've had in a long time! Food was amazing and prices were extremely reasonable. DO NOT MISS this gem during your Blacksburg stay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome establishment!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently had a wedding rehersal dinner at Macado`s in Blacksburg, VA. I will have to say these people here were the best I have ever encountered. The food was awsome and they bent over backwards to make sure our event went off without a hitch. The management and staff were always there and asking what else they could do to help. Everyone at the party commented how great they were. In my opinion, they have set the bar for other places to shoot for. Whenever you are in the area, I hope you will stop by. I intend to go back everytime we are in town. Thanks to everyone at Macado`s!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical college town restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Near the VT campus, the atmosphere of this restaurant is typical of restaurants that cater to college students. Lots of pub-like menu options. Food was good but not particularly memorable. Service was fine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun for families and large groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We ate here twice while visiting VTech for a soccer event. The kids loved the huge King Kong and the memorabilia displays. The sandwiches and desserts were delicious. It is not fancy but perfect for a quick family meal or a large group. We were with several families and the staff handled it really well with separate checks and getting all the food out at the same time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macado's also viewed

 

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.