We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poor Billy's Seafood Restaurant

Poor Billy's Seafood Restaurant
201 N Main St, Blacksburg, VA 24060-3948
540-951-2200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 106 restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Upscale menu, fantastic service... Perfect! The specials are always off the charts! Can't go wrong with anything offered at this place. We eat here weekly, and it keeps getting better. May not be the cheapest place in town, but remember, you get what you pay for. If the menu is too pricey for you, there's always a seat at McDonald's.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    26
    20
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stafford, va
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were at Parents weekend at nearby Radford University when our son decided he wanted seafood, so our GPS led us to Poor Billy's. Although pricey for the area, the food was outstanding - Crab legs, Salmon, and Snapper were all fresh and flavorful - and I grew up on the Gulf coast so my seafood standard is pretty high. The vegetables were also excellent and they let me exchange fried onions for grilled asparagus with no extra charge. A good selection of craft beers, although apparently no local ones. Service was prompt although the server didn't really know anything about the craft beers. One minor complaint - three TV's in sight but all the same football game (not vt).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, but be ready to spend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good food, but very pricey for Blacksburg. Never had a bad meal there but the service has been hit or miss. Nice interior as well. Very good sushi, but there are other places that are cheaper and just as good in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We live near the shore and expect a lot from a place billing itself as a seafood restaurant. We were impressed. Within minutes of being seated they asked us to move so they could seat a large party. We had not even ordered yet and it was no big deal. They bent over backwards for us. Everyone loved their food. The fish was fresh and excellently prepared. Will be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The steamed seafood appetizer for two was unbelievable! It was enormous and truly wonderful. It's too bad we don't live closeby (or even in the same state), otherwise we would go back again and again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor Billy's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poor Billy's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor Billy's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.