We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sycamore Deli
310 Turner St NW, Blacksburg, VA
(540) 951-9817
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 109 Restaurants in Blacksburg
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I came here during Blacksburg's Restaurant Week. As the previous reviewer said, it's a bit shady on the outside, but it's decent inside. It has a section for pool tables, a bar, and tables throughout the rest of the restaurant. I can't recall the prices exactly, but it was a great deal for the amount of food we got! Evidently, it's a normal Saturday deal, not just for restaurant week. We got a huge sub (which we shared between the two of us), a bag of chips, a cookie, and a soda.

The only thing I will say is to specify exactly what sauce (mayo, mustard, etc) you want on your sub regardless of the meal description. Ours was supposed to have mustard but came out with mayo instead. But, it was no big deal. The friendly service made it easy to overlook the error. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“First time to sycamore deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Heard about the place from a friend. From the outside it does look a little shady and you have to go down underground by about 20 steps to the basement level. Its a bit dirty and old and run down looking so if that kind of thing bothers you then don't go. Once you're inside it looks like an old bar...and I do mean old. The chairs, tables and decor look to be old as well. If you are trying to find a place with natural light and an up to date modern feel this is not the place either. You are underground so there are no windows. you place your order yourself on paper and hand it to someone behind the bar. If youre wanting customer service that gives you the warm and fuzzies this is not the place either. Within just a few minutes the order was ready. The sandwhich was huge and it was very very good. So overall I would return cause the food was good, but again if you can't climb stairs or want something clean new and modern this isn't the place for you. On the other hand if you want good food at reasonable prices then you should try it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Value in Blacksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The sandwiches are stuffed and large! The value is incredible for what you get. All meals come with chips, drink and cookie. It is a frills-free atmosphere and is rather scary looking inside if you are not used to it.

Note: To access the restaurant, you have to go down some steep stairs off of Draper Road. Not sure, but there may be handicapped access in the back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Deli with a Wide Variety of Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's more of a hole-in-the-floor than a hole-in-the-wall (it's underground), but what this deli lacks in atmosphere, it makes up for in quality and quantity of product. The menu is fairly diverse for a deli, with traditional deli sandwiches, wraps, pitas, enchiladas, bagels, subs, and the usual sides like potato salad and cole slaw. The meats and cheeses are always excellent-tasting, and vegetables are always fresh. My favorite is the Churchill (roast beef, corned beef, cheddar, and horseradish).

My only gripe: they can sometimes be a little slow, but I assume it's because they don't have everything ready-sliced, which preserves the freshness.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Skip the subway / JJs / quizNo -> Sycamore is much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

As far as the food, Sycamore (and the other local SubStation) has got the chains beat hands down. Sycamore has moved 4 or 5 times in it's lifetime and the decor seems to slip a little every time, but a good atmosphere is maintained by the friendly owner and his staff

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore Deli also viewed

 

Been to Sycamore Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.