We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backstreet's pizza

Backstreet's pizza
207 South Main Street, Blacksburg, VA 24060
540-552-6712
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 103 restaurants in Blacksburg
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Buffet
Matoaca, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Asked people that at one time lived in Blacksburg and they said to go there. The pizza was great. Had just a New York crust but was great. Will be back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    15
    15
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had never heard of Baltimore-style pizza before visiting Backstreet's Pizza, so naturally we had to go for it. Topping off the special crust with grilled shrimp and black olives was a real treat - and I normally do not like shrimp on pizza!

Attentive hostess and waiter, without being intrusive, made the visit very pleasant. I was impressed by the waiter's ability to describe a few of the beers. His recommendation was right on!

Will definitely be back on a future visit to Blacksburg!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esturmone, General Manager at Backstreet's pizza, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks for the review !

I grew up in Baltimore, I don't think there is a formal Baltimore style pizza per se. I modeled this pizza on my favorite pizza place called Gussies. They used white cheddar and hand formed their crust . Apparenlty they are still open and specialize in pizza and crabcakes. A lot fo pizza ,places owned by persons of Greek origin use white cheddar instead of mozzarella. So glad you enjoyed it !!


Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Knox, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible service; good for take out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are pretty new to the area, but we've already tried Backstreet's three times. The first two times were for take out pizza. Delicious pizza!

The third try was today for a late lunch. We ordered beers, an appetizer, and two entrees. The beer was good, and the mozzarella sticks were great! Unfortunately, my husband's entree arrived before mine. No big deal, except that our waiter never came back with my meal! After his meal got cold and our waiter still hadn't returned, we flagged down a different server and asked her to send our server. A few minutes later, he finally showed up, told us he'd be right back, and disappeared again. Eventually we were told that the cooks got confused and overlooked my order. Again, this wasn't an unforgivable mistake, except that after canceling my order, the server disappeared again. It took a ridiculous amount of time to get the check and a to go box. Again, we had to flag down a different server for our check.

Sorry for the long, detailed saga. I will definitely order Backstreet's pizza again, but although the dine-in menu sounded delicious (I would have loved to try what I ordered!), I probably won't go back to eat at the restaurant. The experience left me frustrated and hungry.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Backstreet's pizza, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi !
I am very sorry you had a bad experience with our service on Sunday . i believe your order was for a 12" merger, crawfish ravioli? I have looked into your order and found that this was a mistake by the server, not the kitchen. This is the first time we have had a problem with this server, this person is no longer a server with us.

Please feel free to contact me at info@backstreetsblacksburg.com if you would allow us a redo for free so you can try the dishes as you would have liked .

Thank you

Eric Sturm, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn,
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good pizza selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

they have a large selection of pizzas to choose from - i usually get their meat lovers one. they are good about having large groups but they do charge an automatic 18% tip for groups 8+. sitting outside is nice though you are right there with the traffic from Main Street. Not much parking at the restaurant but it is close to the BT stop and campus.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We dined on the patio and shared a Mediterranean deep dish pizza without chicken. Attentive waiter. 'Excellent'.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet's pizza also viewed

 

Been to Backstreet's pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstreet's pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.