We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice clean hotel -- solid choice in Blacksburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very nice clean hotel -- solid choice in Blacksburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed in Courtyard by Marriott for one night during campus tour of VA Tech. Hotel's location is very close to the campus, restaurants and major highway. Loved the clean rooms, very friendly staff and nice breakfast. Even though VA Tech sight suggested that we stay at the Inn, upon looking at the pictures, my daughter and I decided that we wanted something different. Marriott had great reviews and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The front desk staff (Andrew, I believe) was very friendly and helpful, giving us maps, restaurant suggestions and answering all of our questions. We forgot to bring toothpaste and went in search of the little hotel shop to buy one, Andrew was quick to point out that hotel provides basic toiletries free for guests. Very nice feature, and not often found in today's economy. The room itself was spacious, bed was clean and comfortable and had small fridge, microwave and coffee machine. Our rate did not include breakfast, and we wanted to eat something quick and close to campus so that we will not miss our orientation, however, upon checking the breakfast bar, we decided that it was totally worth the cost. The food was good and plentiful and service was prompt and pleasant. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at the Courtyard in the future, and if my child ends up going to VA Tech, I will certainly become a frequent hotel guest there.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
VaTravel,

Thank you for your thoughtful post about our property! Best of luck to your daughter as she chooses a school! If VT is it, we hope to have you and your family as regulars!

Safe Travels,

Courtyard by Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
10
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Stayed here for two nights at the end of Oct/first of Nov. for a family function. I grew up in Blacksburg, visit regularly and know most of the properties and have seen a number of hotels/chains come and go. Most of the options in the Blacksburg city limits are older and thus the properties are simply refurbished every few years.

The Courtyard is an actual new property, just inside the town limits on the east side by the airport. The rooms are very spacious, clean and the bedding is quite comfortable. Room-wise it's easily the best option I've found in town. Breakfast is not included and the rate is higher than other hotels, so if you are strictly after price then this isn't the one for you. However, the difference in price is easily justified by seeing the rooms. Very big, nice and comfortable, particularly for a family of four like us. Staff was great and well-trained.

About the only drawback is the location in that you really aren't near campus. It's only a five-minute drive and closer than staying over by the mall where there are several other newer hotels, but that may put some people off. Otherwise, I doubt there's a better option in the Blacksburg/Christiansburg area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
Dear NoVirginia_Traveler,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay with your family! It is important to us for our property to feel like a home away from home. We hope to see you during your next visit to Blacksburg!

The Courtyard Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, AZ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I found the front desk staff unhelpful and especially bad with regards to directions to the hotel. They were worse than asking advice at a local Denny's. However, the property itself looks to be only a few years old, it's still clean and nice. The internet connection was fine and other than the poor front desk help I'd recommend the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Dear davejensen,

We value our guest's comments; thank you for your post. I apologize that you had difficulty with directions provided from our Guest Services Team. We will continue to train our staff so that this will be avoided in the future. Most of our guests feels we are conveniently located off 460 Bypass at the South End part of Main Street. We are within walking distance of the Corporate Research Center and less then a mile from several Blacksburg business parks. In addition, our location offers three favorable ways to drive to the heart of Virginia Tech Campus.

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a football weekend and were very impressed with how new/nice the hotel was. Very nice and different layout in the room we were in and the hotel was very quiet (no parties at all hours). We were very pleased because we have stayed in some lower end hotels in Blacksburg just to have a place to stay for the games ... this was a welcome change. Very clean and the service staff were all friendly! Would stay here again hands down! Only complaint is that it was expensive, but at least we were in a nice hotel this time paying the high dollars that it takes to watch football!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
Dear jewagne5,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit at our property and hope to see you the next time you visit Blacksburg!

Go Hokies!

The Courtyard Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I am a HUGE fan of Marriotts. I had been staying with Choice Hotels for years, but their quality consistency was getting to be soooo BAD. You just never knew if it was going to be a good one or not when you booked it (other than TripAdvisor reviews, of course!). But Marriotts have EXCELLENT quality control across the board!!
This particular hotel is fairly new. I've stayed in some others before in Blacksburg, but now that this Courtyard is here....this is my destination when I need a hotel in this area. The rooms are very nice, spacious, extremely clean, smell good....what else can I say. I am so very pleased with this hotel. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. This hotel is tops!!!! A little pricey, but worth it to make sure you are not sleeping in grunge, bugs, or murder central. :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear Lisaj1962,

It is great to hear that you are enjoying the Marriott Brand and had a nice experience at our property! We appreciate you and hope to see you and your family on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Safe Travels,

Courtyard Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Friendly staff, great breakfast and the lady in charge was very friendly and helpfull. Bedroom was nice and clean and perfect location close to VT.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Sales Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
Dear ViennaVirginia,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Blacksburg. We appreciate your kind words and hope to have the opportunity to have your family back as repeat guests!

Safe Travels,

Courtyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

TWO QUEENS! Which is the Courtyard norm, but still awesome. Great new hotel. It had a very nice room/bathroom. Didn't try the breakfast. Location a little off, but we had a car so I guess it was fine!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.