We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like royalty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Feels like royalty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as one of the hotels to block for our wedding guests, and I am glad we did. They were super helpful, and everything they did for us they went the extra mile to satisfy. This is a great place to block rooms for an event, or to just stay for everyday traveling. You won't be dissatisfied!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
13
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were visiting the Virginia Tech campus and this is very close to everything. Room was clean and comfortable. There was a complimentary breakfast. Will stay again.
I was not there long enough to use the business center or the pool or spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here several times but this latest time was for Thanksgiving Day. Room was comfortable and roomy. The shower was a bit tricky in regulating the tempature. It was either boiling hot or cold. Other than that, the room was nice. Went to breakfast in the morning (unfortunately this hotel takes care of a lot of sports teams visiting Va. Tech, During this stay we had two girl sports teams from different Universities) and the breakfast area looked like a cyclone hit the area. We got down there at 9AM which was an hour prior to the breakfast being over. We found seating okay and we went to get our breakfast. When we sat down we couldn't find silverware and asked the attendant. She said she would get us some "when she finished cleaning tables". That is an unacceptable response since our meal was getting cold. Finally after asking again, she went around to other table that had dirty dishes and took silverware that was "apparently" clean from other tables to bring us silverware. I wasn't sure if they were clean or not. The other staff at the hotel were fantastic, thus is the reason I gave my rating of excellent. I also forgot some toletries and the hotel was great at finding what I needed.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where you select your room. All are equally nice. We were on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here while taking our daughter on a visit to Virginia Tech. If she ends up going to school here this will definitely be our hotel of choice. Our room was quiet and well-appointed with comfortable mattresses. The indoor pool/spa was a nice plus. The breakfast buffet was convenient, tasty and a good value. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear rhinodad,

Thank you for visiting with us and reviewing our property! We hope your daughter has chosen to attend Virginia Tech and will see you again!

Go Hokies!

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice and loved it. The people at the front desk were wonderful--very friendly and helpful. I love the rooms--they are so big and comfortable. It's not located right next to the university, but it's only a 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jimhere,

We LOVE that you love our property! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

With Hospitality,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice, clean, quiet room.
Comfy bed and linens.
Seemed recently renovated.
Great happy hour.
Friendly front desk...just don't take the recommendation and eat at Bull and Bones...terrible. Should have known not to listen to the younger kid :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear buckeyetravel1981,

Thank you for visiting with us and your kind review of our property! We apologize that you did not have a great restaurant experience but hope that will not deter you to try other excellent local restaurants in Blacksburg during your next stay.

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

While nothing in Blacksburg will meet the expectations of those accustomed to 4 and 5 star hotels, of which none exist within 25 miles, this Courtyard is the top selection for Blacksburg with proximity to Tech. The business traveler orientation of the Courtyard marque typically assures professional-quality service and does so here. Front desk staff are a ready and willing resource on all things Blacksburg. Better breakfast alternatives were nearby on Main Street.

Pros: professional, competent front desk staff, clean rooms, typical Courtyard familiar to the business traveler, easy drive to Lane Stadium when Airport Road

Cons: somewhat showing it's age, no much to look at through the windows, somewhat pricey for Blacksburg

No significant faults or flaws were experienced other than (1) an annoyingly loud floor squeak when walking by the wall at the foot corner of the king bed and (2) only two electrical on the desk.

Room Tip: Quieter side is opposite Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Oski_Bear_DC,

We appreciate you visiting with us and leaving a review!

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Courtyard
Blacksburg Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.