We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Excells At Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“This Place Excells At Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for a football weekend. Dressed in opponent purple we found a very welcoming hotel staff dressed in VT t-shirts upon arrival who welcomed us to the Courtyard and also to Blacksburg. Garrick got us checked in and we had an extra nice room on the backside of the hotel with a small balcony. The mattress and pillows could have been firmer. We rested well each night. WiFi in our room was quick and respionsive. We found the same friendly "we're glad you're here" enthusiasm from all the staff we encountered. The complimemntary coffee, tea and fresh cookies in the lobby were a very special touch of the Courtyard staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside with a balcony. Ask for a room away from th ice and vending areas A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear PRMoose,

Thank you for visiting with us and writing a review! Glad you had a great experience during the football weekend!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    23
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
11
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Got a late start on an eight-hour drive and was looking for a place to stay about halfway to my destination. Got the last room in this very nice hotel, which was packed with Virginia Tech football fans. I can't say enough about the guy who checked me in. Was pleasantly surprised to find him still at the desk when I checked out. If you can be waited on by Garrick, you'll be well taken care off.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not complimentary, but it the buffet was only $5 the morning I ate there (regularly $8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear TNmilt,

Glad you were able to visit with us during a VT football weekend while passing through! Thank you for your post and we have shared your comments with Garrick!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard our first night in town before moving to the "official hotel" for the wedding we were attending. I really like Courtyard's Marriott service, nice beds, roomy baths, good toiletries, and wireless that works! I wish the official hotel had been as well run!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mary R,

Thank you for visiting with us and your review! We hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here just one night for a business trip, arriving on a Sunday. Check In was efficient, friendly and helpful. It took me a little while to figure out what I thought of the lobby, but it is not updated to the Bistro look with the convenience of Starbucks or getting a light snack. It kind of looks and feels like a sitting area/dining area of an older assisted Living community! There a a bar area, but it is not open on Sunday night. My room was a king room with a balcony that overlooked a quite back road. If you are like to walk or jog, you would be able to do so on roads behind the property. One slight annoyance about the room was the air conditioner unit was right next to the desk, so when I was doing work, it was loud and cold. Bathroom had seen better days and the grout on the shower showed some mold. Location is convenient off the highway and there is a good selection of places to eat and shop in a "marketplace" about a couple miles from the hotel. House Keeping starts very early in the morning, I did not have my do not disturb sign on my door and they were knocking to come in at 7:30 am. Free coffee was available in the morning, but I did not even seek out what the breakfast options were as I had to get on the road. This is not the nicest Courtyard I have stayed in but it got the job done.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel overlook a quiet back street which was pleasant at night, however del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear 143143,

We appreciate your candid feedback and your post has been shared with our team members. Since our property opened in October 2007, the hotel was new when the Courtyard Bistro rennovations began. We have tentatively scheduled our rennovation to begin 4th quarter 2014.

We hope that you will visit again!

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Courtyard is the older style (no Bistro) but is in very good shape. The rooms are large and comfortable. The location is very convenient to shopping, businesses and Virginia Tech. The staff is very friendly and helpful (loaned me a laptop when I couldn't get mine to download an Excel document!).

Nice buffet breakfast but nothing made to order.

Room Tip: I chose the 4th (highest) floor as there were some families with kids visiting Virginia Tech staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Don M,

Thank you for visiting with us and your review! Happy to hear the Front Desk could help by loaning a laptop for your work.

Our breakfast buffet offers eggs and omelets cooked to order seven days a week. I apologize that was not offered.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is not the cheapest nor the closest to Virginia Tech's campus, but the overall quality is the best imo. Their staff, from front desk to cleaning to maintenance, are the best in town. The rooms are very large, especially the two queen rooms, plus they include a small fridge. There is a small bar in the lobby and pay breakfast (I've never eaten there - too many great local options in a college town). Overall, this hotel is my first option in Blacksburg.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle facing the back of the hotel have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear H4VT,

Thank you for making our property your first choice when visiting Blacksburg! We appreciate you recognizing our staff as the best in town!

With Hospitality,

Lauren and the Courtyard by Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel, and I expected it to be clean and it was very clean. But, more than that, the staff was very friendly and attentive. The beds were super comfortable, and the I will definitely there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear georgeg844,

Thank you for visiting with us and posting for the travel community about your stay!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.