We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Business Travel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here just one night for a business trip, arriving on a Sunday. Check In was efficient, friendly and helpful. It took me a little while to figure out what I thought of the lobby, but it is not updated to the Bistro look with the convenience of Starbucks or getting a light snack. It kind of looks and feels like a sitting area/dining area of an older assisted Living community! There a a bar area, but it is not open on Sunday night. My room was a king room with a balcony that overlooked a quite back road. If you are like to walk or jog, you would be able to do so on roads behind the property. One slight annoyance about the room was the air conditioner unit was right next to the desk, so when I was doing work, it was loud and cold. Bathroom had seen better days and the grout on the shower showed some mold. Location is convenient off the highway and there is a good selection of places to eat and shop in a "marketplace" about a couple miles from the hotel. House Keeping starts very early in the morning, I did not have my do not disturb sign on my door and they were knocking to come in at 7:30 am. Free coffee was available in the morning, but I did not even seek out what the breakfast options were as I had to get on the road. This is not the nicest Courtyard I have stayed in but it got the job done.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel overlook a quiet back street which was pleasant at night, however del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear 143143,

We appreciate your candid feedback and your post has been shared with our team members. Since our property opened in October 2007, the hotel was new when the Courtyard Bistro rennovations began. We have tentatively scheduled our rennovation to begin 4th quarter 2014.

We hope that you will visit again!

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
10
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Courtyard is the older style (no Bistro) but is in very good shape. The rooms are large and comfortable. The location is very convenient to shopping, businesses and Virginia Tech. The staff is very friendly and helpful (loaned me a laptop when I couldn't get mine to download an Excel document!).

Nice buffet breakfast but nothing made to order.

Room Tip: I chose the 4th (highest) floor as there were some families with kids visiting Virginia Tech staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Don M,

Thank you for visiting with us and your review! Happy to hear the Front Desk could help by loaning a laptop for your work.

Our breakfast buffet offers eggs and omelets cooked to order seven days a week. I apologize that was not offered.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is not the cheapest nor the closest to Virginia Tech's campus, but the overall quality is the best imo. Their staff, from front desk to cleaning to maintenance, are the best in town. The rooms are very large, especially the two queen rooms, plus they include a small fridge. There is a small bar in the lobby and pay breakfast (I've never eaten there - too many great local options in a college town). Overall, this hotel is my first option in Blacksburg.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle facing the back of the hotel have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear H4VT,

Thank you for making our property your first choice when visiting Blacksburg! We appreciate you recognizing our staff as the best in town!

With Hospitality,

Lauren and the Courtyard by Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel, and I expected it to be clean and it was very clean. But, more than that, the staff was very friendly and attentive. The beds were super comfortable, and the I will definitely there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear georgeg844,

Thank you for visiting with us and posting for the travel community about your stay!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love staying at Marriott properties and this one is very modern, nice welcoming lobby, rooms are very modern, flat screen TV's, spacious and excellent showers. Very convenient to VA Tech and I-81. Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear CookingupaStorm,

Thank you for your post about our property and your mention about our location!

We love being one mile from Virginia Tech's Southgate Drive (entrance to Lane Stadium), one exit from Christiansburg, eight minutes from I-81 and a short drive to Radford University.

Looking forward to your next visit,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Unexpected large room with sofa, windows that open and spacious bathroom! Of course, the other great amenities of desk with rolling table, large flat screen tv, coffee, micro and fridge. Now the bed ...
We have never slept so well in a hotel! Great bed we looked forward to climbing into each night! The staff was great, the breakfast delicious and an overall awesome hotel at a reasonable price. THANK YOU MARRIOTT !!!! You always come through for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear LeeVirginia,

We appreciate you! Thank you for posting about your visit, especially about the beds. We recently upgraded the bedding with 2.5 inch memory foam toppers and it is great to hear that guests are sleeping well!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came here after leaving the Fairfield Inn at 10 pm the night earlier (see my other review for the Fairfield Inn Christiansburg for more on that). Checkin was easy and the lady at the front desk was funny and amiable, so props there.

The room was very nice, with molding around the ceiling, and comfortable beds. The bathroom was spotless and included a very nice shower.

The lobby was not redone, however, it was very big and they did offer breakfast each morning for a very reasonable price. There's not much else to say as my stay lasted a total of about 11 hours. I'd definitely stay again, though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear adscram14,

Thank you for posting about your experience at our property! We wished you would have had more time to visit with us but look forward to seeing you during your next trip.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia
Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.