We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“New and Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Previous Trip Advisor reviews were very positive and that was why we booked this Courtyard. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were immaculately clean, quiet, nicely furnished and spacious. It is a relatively new hotel in a great location. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel lobby - I thought it expensive ($8.95) for a hotel lobby breakfast, especially when we usually only eat cereal with tea, coffee. Went to local restuarant and ate healthy. Friends did the bacon and eggs at hotel and stated it was adequate. Paid "Senior" rate from website and paid similar amount to the very poorly rated (on Trip Advisor) Holiday Inn in Blacksburg where I had booked originally - but after reading the HI reviews looked for another hotel. This was a good choice and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Liked — cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — charging for hotel lobby breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
12
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

This is a new hotel and a very nice addition to the Blacksburg area. Everything was fresh and new, the front desk staff -- mostly composed of VT students -- were very nice and helpful. The rest of the staff was nice as well. The indoor pool was a nice addition, though of course is small and shallow.

It's in a generally good location for Blacksburg. There's not much, if anything, that you can walk to, but it's a very short and easy drive to downtown and/or campus.

We stayed four nights and got a AAA rate and it was a very good rate for the quality of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Date : April 15, 2008. We just returned from a two night stay at the Courtyard Blacksburg while we visited Virginia Tech. This new property is impeccably clean, and the staff couldn't be more friendly. They have a very nice pool and jacuzzi (very underutilized when we were there) as well as a fitness room. Our room was ready when we arrived - slightly before check in time,, and we were very impressed with the appearance. We had two queen beds, with large operating window, plenty of window covering options/layers (including room darkening)
individual thermostatic controlled heat and air, refrigerator, microwave, abundant coffee service, iron, ironing board, hair dryer ( a real hair dryer - not one mounted on the wall). The shower is very nice, and extra towels were provided. Although breakfast is not included, it is a good value, with plenty of choices.

The small convenience center is fairly well stocked, One night we decided to stay in and eat salads, although there were other choices, including some frozen entrees that you could heat in the room microwave. They also served some scrumptious cookies last night (complimentary) - not sure whether this is a normal occurence or whether we just got lucky.

This was our first visit to Blacksburg, (but apparently, we will be returning for the next four years!!) so we can't compare this hotel to any others, but this will be my first choice for all future visits. My ideal would be to stay in a hotel that is walking distance to most areas on campus, but after my visit, I am not sure there are any (including the Inn) that acutally would fit this bill. The Inn and the holiday Inn are definitely closer to the main part of campus, but I think you would still want a car for most downtown destinations in the evening. Given that, the location of this Courtyard is just fine - and only about a five minute drive to the center of town.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfort, friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

Courtyards can be counted on to be pretty nice on average. This hotel which opened in October 07 is probably the nicest Courtyard I’ve encountered. Friendly staff, the rooms very deep and large and have microwave and refrigerator. Beds were super, luxurious bath room. Like all CY’s there is a charge for breakfast. I usually only get cereal and fruit ala cart but everything else looked fine.
As noted in other reviews not any restaurants within walking distance so I’d only stay here if I had a car. If you’re without one stay at the Hampton Inn over at the Blacksburg/Christiansburg line, several restaurants are near that.

  • Liked — Great Rooms
  • Disliked — Quite a ways to restaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Great hotel, very clean. I'm not familiar with the area but it seems like a good location. Nothing within walking distance of the hotel though.

  • Liked — Clean, big rooms, decor is a cut above the norm, restaurant good (but not free)
  • Disliked — Nothing in walking distance, like a store or fast food place, bar isn't open yet, too new
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

Our daughter attends the VA-MD Vet School. We have been there four times in the last year between touring and moving her in. You can never seem to get a room at the Inn at VA Tech. Once we stayed at the Ramada (most of the hotels are in Christen burg only a few minutes away- it was AWFUL. The other times we stayed at the Comfort Inn just past the Ramada ok, but only because it was clean). This hotel just opened and it is very nice. Totally nonsmoking. Indoor pool and jacuzzi. Very nice breakfast (so much better than Comfort Inn, they had an omlet station and a waitress) and the bedrooms were very clean and modern. Nice duvet covers and a small sofa bed. Nice flat screen TV and a good deal of room for more than two people. If you are going to visit at VA Tech and you can't get into the Inn this is the place to stay. And if you want to do a special dinner in a small town try the Summit restaurant - very nice. We really enjoyed it.
One other note, this hotel has a small fridge and microwave. In the lobby they have a small store with essentials such as popcorn and small meals. Very helpful if you have children or are too tired to go out.
the bedrooms are very new with nice duvet covers, down comforters and a good bed
GREAT PLACE

  • Liked — Great if you are going to VA Tech
  • Disliked — Small pillows
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;