We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Unexpected large room with sofa, windows that open and spacious bathroom! Of course, the other great amenities of desk with rolling table, large flat screen tv, coffee, micro and fridge. Now the bed ...
We have never slept so well in a hotel! Great bed we looked forward to climbing into each night! The staff was great, the breakfast delicious and an overall awesome hotel at a reasonable price. THANK YOU MARRIOTT !!!! You always come through for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear LeeVirginia,

We appreciate you! Thank you for posting about your visit, especially about the beds. We recently upgraded the bedding with 2.5 inch memory foam toppers and it is great to hear that guests are sleeping well!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
16
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came here after leaving the Fairfield Inn at 10 pm the night earlier (see my other review for the Fairfield Inn Christiansburg for more on that). Checkin was easy and the lady at the front desk was funny and amiable, so props there.

The room was very nice, with molding around the ceiling, and comfortable beds. The bathroom was spotless and included a very nice shower.

The lobby was not redone, however, it was very big and they did offer breakfast each morning for a very reasonable price. There's not much else to say as my stay lasted a total of about 11 hours. I'd definitely stay again, though!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear adscram14,

Thank you for posting about your experience at our property! We wished you would have had more time to visit with us but look forward to seeing you during your next trip.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed just one night to visit Virginia Tech for our son. Staff was very friendly. Fastest checkin I've ever had which was good because we arrived late and I was really tired! We had a king room with sleep sofa. Extra large, comfortable room that was very clean, and a roomy clean bathroom too. Seemed very new. Would stay here again - highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear CLCCL,

Thank you for your review and recommending our property to other travelers!

We hope that you and your son enjoyed Blacksburg/The New River Valley and Virginia Tech and that you will visit the area again!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and always enjoy our stay. However, this time my wife was in misery because of the smell of the sheets on the bed. Apparently the fabric softener or detergent has been changed and the new product is fairly fragrant. She had a migrane for the rest of the day. We were really disappointed since Marriott has always been fairly concerned with allergen causing products. We spoke to someone working at the front desk, but got no assurance this change would be reversed, so we may not be able to stay at this hotel again which is very disappointing for us. For most people this is probably not an issue- it smells like Tide, but for us its a deal breaker because of her senstivity. The hotel was already on the expensive side, so we'll probably look elsewhere (the Fairfield in town uses some sort of Carpet power too, just fyi..)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear kmr2r,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay!

We have had our cleaning chemical supplier at property to verify amounts of detergent, bleach and softener are being dispensed properly. We hope you will visit with us again!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed while visiting VT. I'm a Courtyard fan but have to say my family and I were put off by the constant slamming of doors and the paper thin walls. Plenty of traffic noise as well. Restaurant not open on a Sunday evening?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Matthew F,

Thank you for sharing your constructive comments! The door closure tension is according to Marriott Brand standard to maintain the safety and security of our guests.

We appreciate your feedback and will share with Marriott and our ownership.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were on a trip to visit my son at VT and found this gem. A wonderful facility with even bettter staff! This property has either been recently updated or is brand new. You wouldn't be able to tell the difference. We were welcomed with big smiles upon our arrival. Off site restaurants are a short drive away. Great value.

Room Tip: Roooms are large and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Satch07,

Thank you for posting about our property! It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit to see your son!

Go Hokies,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard Blacksburg when visiting a friend who goes to Tech. We got a king size room with a whirlpool jacuzzi tub and had a girl's night at the hotel. Everything looked brand new and the staff was super nice. They had a big TV in the room, and everything was clean and well decorated. The price was great for the value received - it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and definitely the best of the Courtyards that I have been in so far.

I had no issues whatsoever and would recommend it to anyone staying in Blacksburg! It is much more convenient than staying over in Christiansburg and nicer than any other hotel in town.

Room Tip: Go for the whirlpool if you are looking for a romantic evening or a night of relaxation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear spatlovesbama,

Great to hear that you had a nice visit with us and was able to enjoy some rest and relaxation! We are honored by your comment about being one of the best hotels you have stayed at/the best Courtyard you have been in!

We hope to see you next time you are in town visiting your friend at Tech.

Safe Travels,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacksburg
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#3 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Blacksburg Comfort Inn Hotel
2.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 8 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#5 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Courtyard
Blacksburg Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.