We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and clean- great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Roanoke, Va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New and clean- great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Very nice hotel- about a 5 minute drive to campus. Nice part of town- very close to an upscale shopping district known as First and Main. Great stay overall!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear VirginiaKaraM,

Thank you for your informative post! Located approximately two miles from the Virginia Tech, we are a short drive to campus. Great to hear your stay went well; we are looking forward to your next visit!

With Hospitality,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
10
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

First stay here and not our last! King size room was spacious. All typical room amenities worked and were good quality, with exception of tv remote, which front desk promptly replace with brand new one. Liz at front desk was especially helpful. I don't usually name names in reivews, but her attitude and service were exemplary-she checked restaurants and local activities and printed out directions-but mostly she was cheerful and a great ambassador for Marriott. As for the hotel-one minor improvement would be nice-the fitness center needs yoga mats and exercise stability ball(s). Breakfast was great, all items hot and well prepared. If you plan to have breakfast and there are 2 or more people in room, have the cost added to your room bill, so as to pay half price. if you buy breakfast separatly from the room charge, you pay by the person.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, I don't think you can get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear skiwe,

Thank you for visiting with us and for your post! Liz is actually one of our newest team members and we have passed along your kind words to her. We appreciate you and look forward to your next stay!

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbern, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I recently stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Blacksburg in one of the kind spa suites. The room was fabulous, roomy, and clean. The customer service, both at the front desk and at the breakfast buffet, was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear Jane R,

We appreciate your post! Our spa king rooms are great for rest and relaxation. Our most prized asset is our staff and I am glad they delivered excellent customer service during your visit!

With Hospitality,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I am a Marriott loyal with Gold elite status for years, a Marriott hotel is my first choice in selecting an accommodation; but I do not mind to give a bad review if a particular hotel is not to our expectation. This courtyard in Blacksburg met our expectations and more. The hotel is very clean; feels like it was just built. Rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, and showers are powerful. The breakfast was good, although there was no hot buffet that day (very low occupancy that morning), ordering from the menu was sufficient. Service and front desk assistance were courteous…. They were very friendly and accommodating.
I highly recommend it to any one, especially those on business trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear TOURtheWORLDMexPal,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott Brand and for your post! We are pleased you had an excellent visit with us! Although we opened four years ago in October 2007, our staff works hard to upkeep our property and we appreciate that you noticed it.

We look forward to your next visit,

Lauren/The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our group has been conducting business meetings at this hotel for the past several months and we are impressed by the deep customer service orientation of the staff. I have stayed and have had meetings at several hotels in town and elsewhere; I feel that this Courtyard is at par with the best out there, especially in their service orientation. I'd recommend this hotel to my family and friends visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear rfoz11,

Thank you for your kind words; we appreciate you! We believe the most important thing about our job is to take care of our guests, whether they are overnight guests or people visiting property for a meeting.

We are ranked in the top 5% of all Courtyards in North America for guest satisfaction and I am glad that we were able to meet expectations!

We look forward to you hosting your next event,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I am a local insurance perfessional that has set up classes in the meeting rooms. On a couple of occasions i have had to change the time or date for the class and the staff has gone above and beyond by helping me schedule these changes. I have been to several different locations for meetings in the past and from now on when i need to schedule an event in the NRV i will be doing it with The Courtyard in Blacksburg. Thanks for the great sevice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear JoeJohnson58,

Thank you for your post; we appreciate you! Our function space is perfect for meetings with 32 or less people. We have competitive rates for full or half-day meetings. We look forward to you hosting your seminars/workshops at our property.

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Beautiful and convenient location! Great breakfast, nice rooms, amazing landscaping (especially in the courtyard). Staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardBlacksburg, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Erica F,

Thank you for your kind words about our property! We believe we have a great product in Blacksburg, starting from the first impression of our exterior to our rooms and service. We look forward to having you back to visit!

With Hospitality,

The Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Hotel
Courtyard Blacksburg
Blacksburg Marriott
Blacksburg Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Blacksburg Virginia
Address: 105 Southpark Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.