We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The INN is raising the bar for conferences and meeting spaces in Virginia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“The INN is raising the bar for conferences and meeting spaces in Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Our group of 18 professionals found the Inn at Virginia Tech to be a terrific match to our meeting and accommodation needs. The airy conference room was set up to our exact specifications. The snack/coffee bar (available throughout the day) was a great hit with participants and the full breakfast and lunch buffets offered something substantial for everyone. The meeting room was very high tech and user friendly. The sleeping rooms and master suite were clean and roomy – although we needed to go out into one of the alcoves in the hallway to get cell phone service. Most importantly, the staff was consistently friendly and attentive. The manager was available 24/7 if we had an emergency. The shuttle bus dropped us off and picked us up when we had dinner out on the town (even gave us a quick tour of the campus). We plan to use the Inn again next year and would highly recommend it to other groups.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for the complimentary review of our lodging accommodations as well as the amenities and services of our conference center. As an IACC approved conference center, we strive for not only superior responsiveness to our conference guests, but to also be proactive in anticipating their needs. It’s tremendously rewarding to have such efforts recognized and appreciated. Thank you again for the comments and we look forward to hosting your group again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    65
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
98
32
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

My daughter and I spent one night to do the VT tour. Check-in was great....when we walked away from the counter my daughter said, "Samantha really likes her job and she's good at it, too!" She had taken time to answer our questions and give us additional information that proved very helpful. We both just collapsed on the fluffy bed! It was wonderful! We took advantage of the the Bed and Breakfast option and didn't regret it. It was a great visit! Even with 2 wedding parties going on, we never heard a thing!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Armstrong, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. It’s always a pleasure to hear positive comments about our products and service, but it’s particularly rewarding when an employee is remembered by name. I have shared your comments with our entire management staff, and we too hope your daughter chooses Virginia Tech and that we’re able to host your future visits to Blacksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

The hotel is beautiful, made with the same Hokie Stone as most campus buildings. The location is good, it's possible to walk to the main part of campus within a few minutes. The lobby is nice, and we didn't have a line since we checked in after settling our daughter into her dorm. The room was spacious but otherwise seemed like every other hotel room. The bed was comfortable and there are lots of pillows - a nice plus. The bathroom was clean. Some kind of a continentental breakfast would be the thing that brings me back here. The food was very expensive for room service, so we didn't want to try the restaurant. We drove off campus for breakfast. You can stay at any of the hotel chains in the area for the same price (or less) and have breakfast included. Since we have a freshman and will be visiting the campus for the next 4 years, I'd like to see the Inn be a little more competitive in this regard. Yes, you're the closest hotel - but the Holiday Inn is just across the street. I'd be willing to stay somewhere a little less plush to save $50 and have breakfast included.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 24, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our facility. We value the opinions received from our guests and often used their suggestions to improve our products and services. Based on feedback we have received from our guests, we implemented a Bed & Breakfast rate earlier this year. For a nominal fee above our best available nightly rate, breakfast can be included for each adult on the reservation. Unlike most hotels which feature a limited continental breakfast, the Bed and Breakfast rate includes our full breakfast buffet. Our goal is to provide our guests with whatever option best suits their particular needs. Thank you again for the review, and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to host your next visit to campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I had read the other reviews here before we went -having no choice on where to stay--but we found it to be a very nice, seemingly well run place to relax. Nice rooms ( we were on the golf course side that appears to be a large meadow..) with good beds, lots of pillows, nice bathroom plus a second outside sink area. We had many checking in at one time with multiple lines--but nice friendly staff seemed reasonably organized. Rooms were QUIET--which is the No. 1 requirement I have. We did not hear any noise from adjacent or overhead rooms, nor form the hall. Door closers don't slam the doors either--a major flaw at most hotels.They need a light breakfast 'bar' to go with coffee bar, but otherwise restaurant was fine for lunch. Pool was off site on the campus!! Bizarre...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you so much for the review. We're extremely pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you had so many positive things to say about both our rooms and our staff. We are constantly striving to improve our facilities and service, and I have shared your comments about a light breakfast bar with our Food & Beverage Director.

Although we do not have a pool on site, we have an agreement with the university which allows our guests access to campus facilities. While this may be somewhat unique, this arrangement provides our guests with extensive recreational amenities, including an indoor pool, basketball, and racquetball courts, normally found only in much larger resort properties.

Again, we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be your hotel of choice when returning to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

My teenage daughter and I spent one night at the Inn last week. Our purpose for visiting Blacksburg was to tour Virginia Tech. We arrived at 5pm, and spent 20 minutes waiting to be checked-in. There were 3 guests ahead of us in line, and only one clerk working at the reception desk. We were surprised that another clerk was not called to assist, and that the working clerk offered no acknowledgement or apology for our time spent in line.
Upon arrival to our room, we noted that the internet service was not working. We were informed by the front desk clerk that it was expected to be "out most of the evening". Fortunately, it was up by 7pm.
While our room was clean, we noted that only one bar of soap was provided to be used for both the sink and shower and the towels were like sandpaper. We also noted a large "bleach stain" on the bedspread.
I had looked forward to our stay at the Inn, and am not a "picky" hotel guest. However, in the future I will plan to stay at one of the local chain hotels.
On the upside - the extra $3 charge for parking was worth it as we were allowed to park in any student, faculty, or staff parking spot on campus.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate you sharing your experience so that we can take steps to ensure that such issues are not repeated. We apologize for any inconvenience and sincerely hope that we may have another opportunity to show you the best that our property and staff has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The exterior of the facility is beautiful as well as the lobby area. A 30 minute wait to check in was crazy but charging 3.00 a day just to park in the parking lot of the hotel was over the top. It only went down from there.

Over 30 rooms were book with our group for a wedding. Everyone had a horrible experience but most consistantly they said...

- Horribly uncomfortable beds
- Moldy shower
- Torn or damaged furnature
- A/C didn't work well in 20 of the rooms
- no service/understaffed
- hotel restaurant was bad (10 people ate there and spread the word not to go)
- Some reservations were lost, others were given the wrong rooms.
- One person was allergic to down and had added that to their reservation. Once arriving they found a down comforter as well as down pillows. When requested a change, they sent 2 old musty pillows and no blanket ... they were told... it's all we have.

DO NOT stay here! Don't let the exterior fool you... there are far better places that are quite a bit cheaper!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Hoaxgirl, we appreciate your review of the property. Please know that we will share your review with our team. We are extremely disappointed to read your review of the property as we strive daily to provide excellence in our operations. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay and would like to learn more about your experience. Sincerely, Gary Crizer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for two nights and was quite disappointed with the service aspects of our stay. On the positive side, the receptionists were friendly and professional, and the room was large.

However, there were several letdowns. First, we had reserved a cot for the first night; it was delivered while we were out, propped upright in the entry hall. It's not a big deal, but we then had to move furniture around to set it up. Second, the airconditioner didn't cool sufficiently, and the system rattled quite loudly - enough so we had difficulty sleeping. We informed the front desk, but apparently nothing was fixed for our second night. Housekeeping did a poor job between nights as well and various items were not resupplied (bath mat, coffee set-up, etc). I tip housekeeping fairly generously, so the poor service was a big surprise. Upon checkout, there was a mistake on our bill.

This may sound picky, but I'm well travelled and what I look for in a hotel is a clean, quiet room with working air. When maintenance or housekeeping don't do their job, it ruins the experience.

This was the VaTech orientation trip for my daughter. I've got four years of visits ahead of me (and probably a lot more with two more children) which I'd guess will translate into 30 nights or more which this hotel has lost.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCrizer, Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
MatthewB6283, thank you for sharing this incident with us as it is extremely important to know what’s happening from a guest perspective, so corrective measures can be implemented and executed. We do hope that you will provide us another opportunity to serve you so you can enjoy the complete experience we intend to deliver on a daily basis. When your travels return you to the Blacksburg area, I hope you will call on me to personally handle your reservation request. Sincerely, Gary Crizer, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.