We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location on Campus, Competitive Rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location on Campus, Competitive Rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the Inn during a visit to the college with my upcoming college age son. The location was perfect for our purposes. It was easy to get to. Right on campus (though to be honest, across the street were other hotels). The price was on the same lines as the other nearby hotels. The room and hotel was very clean, comfortable, and pleasant. Beds were comfortable, though pillows were a little soft for my taste. But there were plenty of them. There is a restaurant in the hotel, though I did not try the food. We ventured out. The Inn is right next to the Undergraduate Admissions office, so very convenient for college visits.

My check in was smooth and quick, as was check out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear VA_Brad:

Thank you for sharing these comments with fellow travelers. We know they like to see what other guests have to say about our hotel.

We appreciate your business and your kind comments. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    75
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
106
35
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Just spent the night while helping our recent grad move out of town.

The inn is attractive. Rooms are large and comfortable, but a little dated.

I was surprised by the room to room noise. Maybe they are trying for the 'dorm experience'. You could hear conversations and lots of plumbing noise.

Staff is helpful when engaged, but generally inattentive.

Overall, a nice place in a great location, but not a very good value

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Bob M:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry our staff was not more attentive during your visit. We know how important it is to engage with our guests - and so many of our staff members are students, They can be very helpful when visitors need information about the University and the campus.

Congratulations on your student's graduation. I know that is an exciting time for any family.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will return one day to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My son and his finance recently got married in the chapel at Virginia Tech. Family and friends stayed at the Inn. Many of us were there for 3 days. My experience differed from those offered by other reviewers. My room was very nice, not in any way dated. It was large, inviting and very comfortable. The staff offered wonderful service, and went above and beyond in many cases. We also used the Inn for the reception, and it was beautiful. The dinner was delicious and the service was very good. All in all, I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay. Thank you for making the wedding weekend even more special.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the third floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear BMBF-3:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciated the opportunity to host your son's wedding party. I know it was a special experience to have their ceremony on the campus.

If you are back in Blacksburg in the future, I hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great customer service, nice lobby (with outdoor seating), meeting rooms and breakfast area. Rooms are pretty big. Right within the Viriginia Tech campus --- close to downtown, several restaurants and cafes in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Travelnow2011db:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope you will stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel could not be more convenient to the Virginia Tech campus. If you are staying here to visit the university or take a tour, I would highly recommend it if you can get a decent rate. However, I do not think that the actual hotel lives up to its price or star rating. The room was dated - the bedding was worn and the amenities haven't been replaced in ages. The bed was not even made up completely and mine had a top sheet that was used on top of the mattress that would slide off the bed. The room had two double beds, an old tv, and the carpets did not really seem clean. However, since I was only in the room to sleep and did not spend much time in the hotel, I felt like the price I paid was worth it as I received it on a discount site and you really can't beat the location. I would not pay full price for this hotel and I really think it deserves to be placed down a star category because of how worn it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Spatlovesbama:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the condition of your room. I am pleased to tell you that we will be completing a renovation of our guestrooms later this year. We have already begun - last week, we replaced all the beds throughout the building and we have added refrigerators in each room. More changes are coming and we are excited to bring these improvements.

We appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you on a future visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here during VT orientation. The Inn is quite lovely & very quiet, with large rooms; the location is ideal if you're visiting VT, and the staff were polite and enthusiastic, but as some other reviewers have noted - the rooms are a bit dated. I also wish they'd put in Queen beds, as 2 adults sleeping in a double (we were traveling as a family and needed 2 sep beds) is not always comfortable, esp. with pillow-top mattresses which retain a lot of body heat. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet at Prestons -- real eggs, sausage, lovely fresh fruit, etc. But for $200/night, seems like b'fast could have been included in the rate. The small gym was quite adequate and the equipment worked just fine. Our room was not cleaned until very late in the day - after 4:30 - but that wasn't a big deal for us on our timetable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear WishfulThinkerz:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We will be completing a renovation and update of our guestrooms this year, replacing all the soft goods and seating throughout. I am confident our guests will appreciate the upgrades we are bringing to the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on a future visit to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Virginia Tech. Fantastic location, you can walk to the Admissions building from the hotel. Big complaint, there is one sign at the entrance to the complex, but then you are on your own to try to find the hotel. For any future travelers, once you've turned into the complex, bear left. The hotel is the large building with pillars/stone awnings. We ended up driving around a bit before we figured the hotel was not the admissions building but the actual hotel. The service was very courteous and professional, the young lady who waited on us in the bar was super nice and as a current VT student, very gung ho about VT, which we really appreciated! The only room complaint is that the rooms seem a bit old fashioned with their slightly tattered bed spreads (yuck, bed spreads) but the room was very clean and a great value. Would definitely stay here again (now that we know where to find it!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the field in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear MrsGeegs:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

I'm sorry for any confusion you experienced while driving onto our property. The Visitors Center was added to our site and additional signage was placed to direct traffic to their building while our only signage was at the driveway entrance from the street. The University is currently updating signage throughout the campus to include actual street addresses. That should be helpful at our site, as well.

I'm pleased to tell you that we are performing a renovation of all our guestrooms this year. All new bedding will be installed and we will no longer be using bedspreads.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.