We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My son and his finance recently got married in the chapel at Virginia Tech. Family and friends stayed at the Inn. Many of us were there for 3 days. My experience differed from those offered by other reviewers. My room was very nice, not in any way dated. It was large, inviting and very comfortable. The staff offered wonderful service, and went above and beyond in many cases. We also used the Inn for the reception, and it was beautiful. The dinner was delicious and the service was very good. All in all, I was extremely pleased with all aspects of my stay. Thank you for making the wedding weekend even more special.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the third floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear BMBF-3:

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciated the opportunity to host your son's wedding party. I know it was a special experience to have their ceremony on the campus.

If you are back in Blacksburg in the future, I hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    69
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
101
34
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great customer service, nice lobby (with outdoor seating), meeting rooms and breakfast area. Rooms are pretty big. Right within the Viriginia Tech campus --- close to downtown, several restaurants and cafes in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Travelnow2011db:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope you will stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel could not be more convenient to the Virginia Tech campus. If you are staying here to visit the university or take a tour, I would highly recommend it if you can get a decent rate. However, I do not think that the actual hotel lives up to its price or star rating. The room was dated - the bedding was worn and the amenities haven't been replaced in ages. The bed was not even made up completely and mine had a top sheet that was used on top of the mattress that would slide off the bed. The room had two double beds, an old tv, and the carpets did not really seem clean. However, since I was only in the room to sleep and did not spend much time in the hotel, I felt like the price I paid was worth it as I received it on a discount site and you really can't beat the location. I would not pay full price for this hotel and I really think it deserves to be placed down a star category because of how worn it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Spatlovesbama:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the condition of your room. I am pleased to tell you that we will be completing a renovation of our guestrooms later this year. We have already begun - last week, we replaced all the beds throughout the building and we have added refrigerators in each room. More changes are coming and we are excited to bring these improvements.

We appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to accommodate you on a future visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here during VT orientation. The Inn is quite lovely & very quiet, with large rooms; the location is ideal if you're visiting VT, and the staff were polite and enthusiastic, but as some other reviewers have noted - the rooms are a bit dated. I also wish they'd put in Queen beds, as 2 adults sleeping in a double (we were traveling as a family and needed 2 sep beds) is not always comfortable, esp. with pillow-top mattresses which retain a lot of body heat. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet at Prestons -- real eggs, sausage, lovely fresh fruit, etc. But for $200/night, seems like b'fast could have been included in the rate. The small gym was quite adequate and the equipment worked just fine. Our room was not cleaned until very late in the day - after 4:30 - but that wasn't a big deal for us on our timetable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear WishfulThinkerz:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We will be completing a renovation and update of our guestrooms this year, replacing all the soft goods and seating throughout. I am confident our guests will appreciate the upgrades we are bringing to the hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on a future visit to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Virginia Tech. Fantastic location, you can walk to the Admissions building from the hotel. Big complaint, there is one sign at the entrance to the complex, but then you are on your own to try to find the hotel. For any future travelers, once you've turned into the complex, bear left. The hotel is the large building with pillars/stone awnings. We ended up driving around a bit before we figured the hotel was not the admissions building but the actual hotel. The service was very courteous and professional, the young lady who waited on us in the bar was super nice and as a current VT student, very gung ho about VT, which we really appreciated! The only room complaint is that the rooms seem a bit old fashioned with their slightly tattered bed spreads (yuck, bed spreads) but the room was very clean and a great value. Would definitely stay here again (now that we know where to find it!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the field in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear MrsGeegs:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

I'm sorry for any confusion you experienced while driving onto our property. The Visitors Center was added to our site and additional signage was placed to direct traffic to their building while our only signage was at the driveway entrance from the street. The University is currently updating signage throughout the campus to include actual street addresses. That should be helpful at our site, as well.

I'm pleased to tell you that we are performing a renovation of all our guestrooms this year. All new bedding will be installed and we will no longer be using bedspreads.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Right on the campus with access to great walking paths and all the campus buildings. We attended a wedding at the botanical center. The inn was close, clean, comfortable and accommodating. Downtown is only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Joe:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location on the campus.

We appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at The Inn… We were there for a college visit and you cannot find anything closer to VT than this property… The exterior is "Hokie" stone like the university, and there was not a spec of trash anywhere on the property… It was very clean inside and out… Parking and check-in was a breeze, and while we were offered help with our bags, we didn't need it… Our suite was large, clean, and very nicely appointed… We loved the decor… We had a rear facing room that had a view of the open field behind the hotel and the woods beyond… It was very quiet throughout our stay… The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast at Preston's right off the lobby… I highly recommend it, as I do The Inn if your heading to Blacksburg… Our son loved Virginia Tech, so we are expecting to return quite a bit, and we will definitely be staying at The Inn…

If there was one negative, it was the water pressure in the shower… It was underwhelming to say the least, and I expected more since everything else was so superb… Hopefully it's something they address before our next visit…

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear GoBa6864,

Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your efforts to share this with fellow travelers.

I'm sorry you had difficulty with the shower in your room. The general water pressure throughout our building is quite good, so I suspect the showerhead may be the problem. If you will reply to me at tshaver@vt.edu with your specific room number, I'll be sure our team corrects the situation.

If your student decides to attend Virginia Tech, I encourage you to join our Parents Club. There is no cost to join and you will receive discounted room rates and special dining offers just for being a member.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.