We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How about a sign on the hotel?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“How about a sign on the hotel?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Virginia Tech. Fantastic location, you can walk to the Admissions building from the hotel. Big complaint, there is one sign at the entrance to the complex, but then you are on your own to try to find the hotel. For any future travelers, once you've turned into the complex, bear left. The hotel is the large building with pillars/stone awnings. We ended up driving around a bit before we figured the hotel was not the admissions building but the actual hotel. The service was very courteous and professional, the young lady who waited on us in the bar was super nice and as a current VT student, very gung ho about VT, which we really appreciated! The only room complaint is that the rooms seem a bit old fashioned with their slightly tattered bed spreads (yuck, bed spreads) but the room was very clean and a great value. Would definitely stay here again (now that we know where to find it!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the field in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear MrsGeegs:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

I'm sorry for any confusion you experienced while driving onto our property. The Visitors Center was added to our site and additional signage was placed to direct traffic to their building while our only signage was at the driveway entrance from the street. The University is currently updating signage throughout the campus to include actual street addresses. That should be helpful at our site, as well.

I'm pleased to tell you that we are performing a renovation of all our guestrooms this year. All new bedding will be installed and we will no longer be using bedspreads.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    77
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
112
38
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Right on the campus with access to great walking paths and all the campus buildings. We attended a wedding at the botanical center. The inn was close, clean, comfortable and accommodating. Downtown is only a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Joe:

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location on the campus.

We appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at The Inn… We were there for a college visit and you cannot find anything closer to VT than this property… The exterior is "Hokie" stone like the university, and there was not a spec of trash anywhere on the property… It was very clean inside and out… Parking and check-in was a breeze, and while we were offered help with our bags, we didn't need it… Our suite was large, clean, and very nicely appointed… We loved the decor… We had a rear facing room that had a view of the open field behind the hotel and the woods beyond… It was very quiet throughout our stay… The next morning we enjoyed a fabulous breakfast at Preston's right off the lobby… I highly recommend it, as I do The Inn if your heading to Blacksburg… Our son loved Virginia Tech, so we are expecting to return quite a bit, and we will definitely be staying at The Inn…

If there was one negative, it was the water pressure in the shower… It was underwhelming to say the least, and I expected more since everything else was so superb… Hopefully it's something they address before our next visit…

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear GoBa6864,

Thank you for posting this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your efforts to share this with fellow travelers.

I'm sorry you had difficulty with the shower in your room. The general water pressure throughout our building is quite good, so I suspect the showerhead may be the problem. If you will reply to me at tshaver@vt.edu with your specific room number, I'll be sure our team corrects the situation.

If your student decides to attend Virginia Tech, I encourage you to join our Parents Club. There is no cost to join and you will receive discounted room rates and special dining offers just for being a member.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I recently spent the Memorial Day weekend in Blacksburg attending a family wedding. While there we stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech. What a fantastic hotel and facility! Our room was extremely spacious (room 230) and the staff could not have been more helpful. While there we enjoyed the restaurant, bar and the use of the free shuttle. Our weddings reception was also held in the hotel and they did a fantastic job. If you find yourself overnighting in Blacksburg, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Moore,

Thank you for sharing these comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and your efforts to share notes with other travelers.

We were pleased to see that the wedding festivities and your accommodations were well-received. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My daughter just graduated from Virginia Tech in May and for the four years she was at VT, we always tried to get reservations at the Inn at Virginia Tech because of it's convenient location, right on campus. From our very first visit, we always had a clean and comfortable room. I am a light sleeper and we never had any noise issues. We loved the breakfast buffet that is reasonable and includes hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, made-to-order omelets, and cold items such as smoked salmon, delicious fruit, cereal, breads, and all-you-can-drink tea or coffee.

If you are wise, I would sign up for The Parent's Club. Not only do you receive a discount, you get preferential treatment when it comes time to scramble for a hotel room for your child's graduation. Make sure to sign up early and know that these rooms are booked about 18 months in advance of graduation! They are allotted based on how many times you have previously stayed at the Inn. We were one of the lucky people to get a room here. The morning of graduation, we only had to get up early, have breakfast, and get on a shuttle bus to the stadium. Everything was organized beautifully. Those poor soles who waited too long and could only get a room 40 miles away had to drive in to Blacksburg with all the other people trying to funnel into town and there were traffic jams!

After the big graduation ceremony that morning in the football stadium, we had also signed up for the Inn's lunch buffet. We knew that it would be hard to get into any restaurants in town with thousands of other people vying for spots too. It was far less stressful to return to The Inn and have a lovely, delicious buffet laid out for us in a special conference room. There was even live music with a woman signing and playing guitar. She was so talented!

I have many fond memories the past four years of staying at The Inn. From the first time my daughter came to Virginia Tech for orientation, to her final days at this gorgeous college campus. I would highly recommend you stay here early and often, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I have been on all floors over the years and never had a noisy room. I am a light sleeper, so this s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Donna,

First of all, congratulations on your daughter's graduation! That is a great day for any parent!

Thank you for staying with us for the Graduation festivities. We appreciate your loyal patronage of The Inn over these few years.

It was a pleasure to read your review of our property. We were especially pleased to see how our transportation arrangements were effective for you during this extremely busy time. Traffic is predictably horrible for Graduation. I'm glad we were able to help our guests avoid the headaches of parking for these events.

Our Parents Club has been incredibly popular. Since it is free to join and includes a nice gift certificate for Preston's Restaurant at the first visit, it is an instant bonus for members. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of it.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My mom nephew and I did kind of a last minute trip to Blacksburg over memorial day weekend. I chose this hotel because of the reasonable price, awesome location, and of course #1 status on trip advisor. I was surprised that my high expectations were exceeded. Check in was delightful. The rooms were spotless. The whole building was clean and orderly. Breakfast was delicious and prices were fair. Housekeeping respected my request and did not enter my room. Everything about this hotel is brilliant. They could probably update their bed spreads. But that's it!!! Everything else is perfect. Just perfect.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Eliza P. -

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech over the Memorial Day holiday. We appreciate your business and thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team members.

We are making some improvements to our guest rooms this year, including all new bedding. The comforters you noted will not be used again in the future.

Thanks again for posting your notes for others to see. We know that guests appreciate the reviews left by previous visitors.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to attend a graduation at VTech. Although the hotel could use an update, it was clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was good.
The hotel has a hard working team who were accommodating and friendly.
Will definitely return again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear 1spartan1 -

Thank your for sharing the review of your recent visit to The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us.

I am pleased to tell you that we will be making improvements in our guest rooms this year, including the addition of mini-refrigerators.

We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.