We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel experience in Blacksburg, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel experience in Blacksburg, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I recently spent the Memorial Day weekend in Blacksburg attending a family wedding. While there we stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech. What a fantastic hotel and facility! Our room was extremely spacious (room 230) and the staff could not have been more helpful. While there we enjoyed the restaurant, bar and the use of the free shuttle. Our weddings reception was also held in the hotel and they did a fantastic job. If you find yourself overnighting in Blacksburg, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Moore,

Thank you for sharing these comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and your efforts to share notes with other travelers.

We were pleased to see that the wedding festivities and your accommodations were well-received. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    59
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
31
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My daughter just graduated from Virginia Tech in May and for the four years she was at VT, we always tried to get reservations at the Inn at Virginia Tech because of it's convenient location, right on campus. From our very first visit, we always had a clean and comfortable room. I am a light sleeper and we never had any noise issues. We loved the breakfast buffet that is reasonable and includes hot items such as scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, made-to-order omelets, and cold items such as smoked salmon, delicious fruit, cereal, breads, and all-you-can-drink tea or coffee.

If you are wise, I would sign up for The Parent's Club. Not only do you receive a discount, you get preferential treatment when it comes time to scramble for a hotel room for your child's graduation. Make sure to sign up early and know that these rooms are booked about 18 months in advance of graduation! They are allotted based on how many times you have previously stayed at the Inn. We were one of the lucky people to get a room here. The morning of graduation, we only had to get up early, have breakfast, and get on a shuttle bus to the stadium. Everything was organized beautifully. Those poor soles who waited too long and could only get a room 40 miles away had to drive in to Blacksburg with all the other people trying to funnel into town and there were traffic jams!

After the big graduation ceremony that morning in the football stadium, we had also signed up for the Inn's lunch buffet. We knew that it would be hard to get into any restaurants in town with thousands of other people vying for spots too. It was far less stressful to return to The Inn and have a lovely, delicious buffet laid out for us in a special conference room. There was even live music with a woman signing and playing guitar. She was so talented!

I have many fond memories the past four years of staying at The Inn. From the first time my daughter came to Virginia Tech for orientation, to her final days at this gorgeous college campus. I would highly recommend you stay here early and often, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I have been on all floors over the years and never had a noisy room. I am a light sleeper, so this s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Donna,

First of all, congratulations on your daughter's graduation! That is a great day for any parent!

Thank you for staying with us for the Graduation festivities. We appreciate your loyal patronage of The Inn over these few years.

It was a pleasure to read your review of our property. We were especially pleased to see how our transportation arrangements were effective for you during this extremely busy time. Traffic is predictably horrible for Graduation. I'm glad we were able to help our guests avoid the headaches of parking for these events.

Our Parents Club has been incredibly popular. Since it is free to join and includes a nice gift certificate for Preston's Restaurant at the first visit, it is an instant bonus for members. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of it.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My mom nephew and I did kind of a last minute trip to Blacksburg over memorial day weekend. I chose this hotel because of the reasonable price, awesome location, and of course #1 status on trip advisor. I was surprised that my high expectations were exceeded. Check in was delightful. The rooms were spotless. The whole building was clean and orderly. Breakfast was delicious and prices were fair. Housekeeping respected my request and did not enter my room. Everything about this hotel is brilliant. They could probably update their bed spreads. But that's it!!! Everything else is perfect. Just perfect.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Eliza P. -

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech over the Memorial Day holiday. We appreciate your business and thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team members.

We are making some improvements to our guest rooms this year, including all new bedding. The comforters you noted will not be used again in the future.

Thanks again for posting your notes for others to see. We know that guests appreciate the reviews left by previous visitors.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to attend a graduation at VTech. Although the hotel could use an update, it was clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was good.
The hotel has a hard working team who were accommodating and friendly.
Will definitely return again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear 1spartan1 -

Thank your for sharing the review of your recent visit to The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us.

I am pleased to tell you that we will be making improvements in our guest rooms this year, including the addition of mini-refrigerators.

We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My son had his wedding reception at The Inn and I cannot say enough wonderful things. The Rehearsal Dinner and Reception were perfect. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate each and every request...they truly made the event a special day not only for the bride/groom but for the families as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. D,

Thank you for the kind notes about your son's recent wedding events at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciated the opportunity to host the festivities and we are happy to know you were pleased with our services.

We know this is one of the most important days in anyone's life, so we take our role very seriously. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team members to produce a great event.

Please don't hesitate to call on us again if we may be of further service to you.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a perfectly fine conference property. The check in went smoothly, as did the rest of our visit. The decor is a little dated or too conference center for my taste, but the room was clean and comfortable. The VT campus is adjacent to the Inn so it's very convenient to walk to campus and to town.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator and the ice machine. the top floor is the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Itsmyturnow,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to read of your satisfaction with our conference facilities and our on-campus location.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really nice hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, easy way to visit VA Tech. (We've learned that the hotel, the drive into a town, and even the weather can really affect your child's impression of a school. So we spent a little extra to stay here and it was a nice experience.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Dan L,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It was great to see that your family enjoyed their visit.

The Virginia Tech campus is beautiful and many students tell us they fell in love with it as soon as they saw it.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.