We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My son had his wedding reception at The Inn and I cannot say enough wonderful things. The Rehearsal Dinner and Reception were perfect. The staff was amazing and bent over backwards to accommodate each and every request...they truly made the event a special day not only for the bride/groom but for the families as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Mrs. D,

Thank you for the kind notes about your son's recent wedding events at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciated the opportunity to host the festivities and we are happy to know you were pleased with our services.

We know this is one of the most important days in anyone's life, so we take our role very seriously. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our team members to produce a great event.

Please don't hesitate to call on us again if we may be of further service to you.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    77
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
107
36
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a perfectly fine conference property. The check in went smoothly, as did the rest of our visit. The decor is a little dated or too conference center for my taste, but the room was clean and comfortable. The VT campus is adjacent to the Inn so it's very convenient to walk to campus and to town.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator and the ice machine. the top floor is the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Itsmyturnow,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to read of your satisfaction with our conference facilities and our on-campus location.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really nice hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, easy way to visit VA Tech. (We've learned that the hotel, the drive into a town, and even the weather can really affect your child's impression of a school. So we spent a little extra to stay here and it was a nice experience.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Dan L,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It was great to see that your family enjoyed their visit.

The Virginia Tech campus is beautiful and many students tell us they fell in love with it as soon as they saw it.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very clean, very comfortable and every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly! Preston's resturant in the INN serves a great buffet breakfast and very reasonably priced! The surrounding grounds were beautiful in May when we vistited and very well kept.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jill E. -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location is perfect if you are visiting the Virgninia Tech campus. Everyone on staff is extremely friendly and eager to please. The breakfast buffet in Preston's is quite varied and a real bargain.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 1, as you can get a room with a view of a retaining wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear OldHokie70 -

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We employ numerous Virginia Tech students throughout the year and many guests comment on how friendly and engaging the students are. We are fortunate to have the opportunity to employ these intelligent and energetic young people.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to campus.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Inn at Virginia Tech is very lovely, comfortable, and a convenient location to the Virginia Tech campus. The staff is great, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Preston's is also very good. I have stayed there many times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear RAS423 -

Thank you for your kind words regarding The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your loyalty to our property.

It was great to read your notes about the hotel. We have some improvements planned for this year, including a mini-fridge for each room. We hope you will return and see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hard to get a reservation on a Football weekend at VT. We lucked out during VT Parent's Weekend in 2014 and paid the same price as we would have for a Hotel in Christiansburg! A very enjoyable weekend! Would definitely pick this again!

Room Tip: Just reserve EARLY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Bethro23 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know that other travelers appreciate the opportunity to see what previous guests have to say about our hotel.

Blacksburg's hotels do fill up early for the special events at Virginia Tech. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you for the Parents weekend festivities.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.