We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located to VT campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Conveniently located to VT campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a perfectly fine conference property. The check in went smoothly, as did the rest of our visit. The decor is a little dated or too conference center for my taste, but the room was clean and comfortable. The VT campus is adjacent to the Inn so it's very convenient to walk to campus and to town.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevator and the ice machine. the top floor is the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Itsmyturnow,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We were pleased to read of your satisfaction with our conference facilities and our on-campus location.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    63
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
94
32
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Really nice hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast, easy way to visit VA Tech. (We've learned that the hotel, the drive into a town, and even the weather can really affect your child's impression of a school. So we spent a little extra to stay here and it was a nice experience.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Dan L,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It was great to see that your family enjoyed their visit.

The Virginia Tech campus is beautiful and many students tell us they fell in love with it as soon as they saw it.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very clean, very comfortable and every staff member we came in contact with was very friendly! Preston's resturant in the INN serves a great buffet breakfast and very reasonably priced! The surrounding grounds were beautiful in May when we vistited and very well kept.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jill E. -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location is perfect if you are visiting the Virgninia Tech campus. Everyone on staff is extremely friendly and eager to please. The breakfast buffet in Preston's is quite varied and a real bargain.

Room Tip: Avoid floor 1, as you can get a room with a view of a retaining wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear OldHokie70 -

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business.

We employ numerous Virginia Tech students throughout the year and many guests comment on how friendly and engaging the students are. We are fortunate to have the opportunity to employ these intelligent and energetic young people.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to campus.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Inn at Virginia Tech is very lovely, comfortable, and a convenient location to the Virginia Tech campus. The staff is great, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Preston's is also very good. I have stayed there many times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear RAS423 -

Thank you for your kind words regarding The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your loyalty to our property.

It was great to read your notes about the hotel. We have some improvements planned for this year, including a mini-fridge for each room. We hope you will return and see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hard to get a reservation on a Football weekend at VT. We lucked out during VT Parent's Weekend in 2014 and paid the same price as we would have for a Hotel in Christiansburg! A very enjoyable weekend! Would definitely pick this again!

Room Tip: Just reserve EARLY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Bethro23 -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know that other travelers appreciate the opportunity to see what previous guests have to say about our hotel.

Blacksburg's hotels do fill up early for the special events at Virginia Tech. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you for the Parents weekend festivities.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Check in quick, friendly staff, and provided us all we needed. Hallways and room clean and nice looking. Staff all very nice. Room spacious and separate sink from bathroom, and a sink in bathroom. Plenty of drawer space and chairs with nice view. Great TV. Coffee maker in room and very good fresh brewed coffee close to lobby every day as well. Hotel transport works great - Kyle and Chris very friendly and helpful. Bar/lounge area well laid out and comfortable. Wonderful selection of bourbon, scotch, and wines. Sunday buffet in Preston's was excellent and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back, otherwise you may overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Findwine -

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your comments.

We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again on a future visit.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.