We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel on campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
1 review
“Great hotel on campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating to our large conference. Very detailed on our needs. Friendly staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Everything has been updated and is new. The only thing that's missing is valet parking, maybe they'll look into it for future guests

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear JMcCray212 -

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We are fortunate to have the most extensive meeting facilities in the area. I'm glad you were satisfied with our services.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to the Virginia Tech campus.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
31
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We landed here because of a professional society meeting, but we will come back if we have the chance. The facilities are first rate, the staff extremely helpful and friendly, and the rooms all we could ask for. And the view is grand.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear S D -

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. It was great to see that your conference went well and that our facilities met all your needs.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Inn as part of a roadtrip with my husband and kids. The location is easy to find off Route 460, is convenient to campus and restaurants, and right next to the visitors center. The room was spacious and comfortable. (Very handy to have 2 sinks when traveling with kids.) Each staff member was friendly and efficient.

We had breakfast at the restaurant inside the hotel. The buffet was high quality.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear S D -

Thank you for sharing these comments about your family's recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad you found our location to be convenient for your visit.

Thank you also for the nice notes about our breakfast buffet. We offer many options to please a variety of tastes.

We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

First let me say that this hotel may not be the hotel for you if you don't have a car. It is a bit of a hike for all food options, which is fine if the weather permits.

The room service was extremely expensive and a complimentary breakfast is not part of the deal...however, the breakfast buffet is fantastic!! For 11 dollars you can get smoked salmon, biscuits and gravy, fresh strawberries and other fruit and an omelette made at the omelette station.

Hallway noise is a little loud, even w the fan running. Service was good but I'd rather stay in a Hampton inn, to be honest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Ms. K -

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing these comments about your stay.

Your comments about our breakfast buffet are appreciated. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service in town and around campus for guests who wish to venture out during their visit.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We've stayed here a few times while visiting or transporting our son to and from college at Virginia Tech. The building says Hokie and luxury as you drive up to the Hokie stone portico. Service is friendly, attentive, and fun. Rooms (not in the basement tho) are a nice size with comfy beds. Wifi is available throughout and is included.

A few things I'd recommend to improve to make it to 5 stars. The showers need the curved shower curtain hangers. For tall folks with pointy elbows, the shower curtain overwhelms the narrow shower area. The other suggestion would be to update some of the furniture. The beautiful leather desk chair in my room looked like a big dog chew chunks out of it. We enjoyed our stay here overall!

Room Tip: Be sure to avoid the smaller basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Dialady -

Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing this review with other travelers.

I'm pleased to tell you that we will be starting a renovation of our guest rooms when this school year is over. All the bedding and the desk chairs will be replaced at that time. We are also adding a mini-fridge in each room and preparing to install the curved shower rods you mentioned.

We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I agree with all of the previous comments on The Inn. My husband and I just returned from visiting our nephew who goes to Virginia Tech and we stayed for two nights at The Inn. It is a most welcoming place! Everyone on the staff is so friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very clean and quite comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear NLKVU,

Thank you for taking the time to post the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. As the only hotel on the campus, we do have a most convenient location for anyone visiting the University.

Your comments are appreciated. We hope we will see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg and Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Inn more than a dozen times while visiting our daughter at VT! The staff, location, cleanliness of rooms, food, bar, just about everything is wonderful. Our only suggestion would be to replace the double beds with Queen size beds in the " double" rooms. Other than that, it's simply perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear MsHotel -

Thank you for the notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers.

I hope you are a member of our ParentsClub (it's free!) so you can take advantage of room discounts and other special offers when you are here.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to campus.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.