We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here in February for a food and wine tasting. The room was spacious and we loved the comfy king sized bed. The hotel was very nice and charming, and in a great location. The staff were also very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Chocofoodowineoholic,

It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech for the Food For Thought event. Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We know that many of our guests like to read about others' experiences before they plan their visit to Blacksburg.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    68
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
100
34
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at The Inn at Virginia Tech in February 2014 while visiting the VT campus. We enjoyed the hotel a great deal. The lunch buffer at Preston's was very tasty, and the room was very nice. We will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Keninville,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again when you return.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I love staying at the Inn at Virginia Tech!

PROS:
Clean, clean, clean
Fabulous location if you are doing anything on campus
Excellent customer service
Good food
Not expensive at all
Big rooms
Flat screens with good channel line up
Good lighting
Big, well equipped bathrooms
Quiet - always get a great night's sleep
Decent linens and pillows
Comfortable beds
Restaurant and sundries on site
Small selection of VT items available for purchase as well
Decent views of the golf course on one side
Nice lobby
Even if you are not attending anything on campus, it's a great stay in Blacksburg

CONS:
None that I can think of!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one on the back side, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear TravelMommy1,

Thank you for sharing your list of favorite things about the Inn at Virginia Tech. We were so pleased to read your review of our property.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon in Blacksburg!

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

As a VT alum, I was sad to see the back nine of the golf course go, but now that I have stayed at the hotel and conference center, I can say that it was very well worth it. The facilities are very nice, and were much needed for a world class university like VT. I was the most impressed by the staff - those working the reception desk were students, but they were just as professional as any other staff I have encountered at hotels worldwide. Two in particular - Gavin and Courtney - were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful - they were extremely professional, yet more than willing to take the time to chat with my colleague and me for an extended period of time. I have to commend VT, and the Inn especially, for helping to develop such strong young professionals. The facilities themselves were inviting, but it really was the people who made it such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Kevin,

It was heartwarming to read your posting about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Thank you for your recognition of the efforts of our Front Desk staff to make you feel welcome. We are fortunate to have so many fine young students on our staff. Many of them are part of Virginia Tech's Hospitality and Tourism Management School, so their work here is a win-win. We get to take advantage of their energy, enthusiasm and personality while they get training and real-world experience that will help them in their future career.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Virginia Tech and Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is not our first stay at the inn. It's our go to place, when possible. Making the reservation was easy. Tyler was very helpful for this. Also greeted warmly, by a great, youthful staff. The students learning the ropes of hotel management at the Inn are very lucky. Anna, was at the desk at check in and was sure to ask if there was anything we needed assistance with. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Well done housekeeping! We know that's a big job and high on our list in booking accommodations. Overall, a great place to stay in blacksburg.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Travelten,

Thank you for the nice comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Your notes about our staff were sincerely appreciated.

We appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you if you return to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Overall, I was really impressed with The Inn (though in the days when I was at VT, I believe it called Donaldson Brown and was located near Squires Hall -- but I digress). I stayed for a conference at The Inn and was impressed by the aesthetics, location, and service. The only things that I had even a slight problem with were the fact that my room faced the front entrance way, so traffic was fairly audible and the seemingly thin walls from room to hallway. When anyone was in the hall talking, it literally sounded like they were either shouting (maybe they were) or were standing RIGHT outside my door. Otherwise, though, it was quiet, relaxing -- for business -- and you really can't beat the value for what you get. I will certainly stay again if I find myself venturing to Blacksburg for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Choose odd numbers if possible -- they don't face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear TheFranchise,

Thank you for the comments you shared regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. As a fellow golfer, I certainly understand your reaction when the course was "invaded" by the new hotel!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you were disturbed by noisy neighbors in the hall. I hope we'll have the opportunity to accommodate you again on a future visit to campus.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at The Inn at Virginia Tech for the first time this weekend and was very impressed. I am a VT alum and have stayed in a number of area hotels. This will now be my top choice. My daughter was participating in an event on the Virginia Tech campus and we got a great rate on the room. You can't beat the convenience - the hotel is right on campus and offers free shuttle service wherever you want to go. It is also very close to restaurants & retail. Our room was nicely appointed and comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was very good. I took the opportunity to explore the Skelton Conference Center and the facilities are very impressive - better than many hotel facilities where I've attended or hosted corporate events. Two comments - we could only run wifi on one device at a time in the room so my daughter and I had to take turns checking email, etc. on our phones, and it would have been nice to have a mini refrigerator (there was certainly room for one).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for sharing these comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We're glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our shuttle service.

I'm pleased to tell you that we are adding mini-refrigerators to all of our rooms this year. We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.