We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Blacksburg
Lynchburg, VA, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Destination getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stay at the Inn often. A very guest friendly place, the Inn is squeaky clean with great food service on site or in town and with excellent beds for a good night sleep. It is a fabulous home base for golf at local courses, tons of ACC sports a short walk from the Inn, hiking and birding trails, American history excursions, and around the corner from the new-internationally acclaimed Arts Center for performing and studio arts. Read the other reviews -- I agree with them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent visit to The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your loyalty to our business and thank you for sharing these thoughts with your fellow travelers.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    61
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
31
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This Inn is on campus, but plenty of open space and lots of parking. The stone structure and architecture and rolling hills in town almost give it a feel of staying at a castle in Europe. Check in was super friendly - assume it to be local students majoring in Hotel management. Room was nice and clean, nice view out back of hotel, not onto parking lot. Close to lots of amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the parking lot, a bit better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Canatrace,

Thank you for the nice comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We do employ numerous Virginia Tech students and they are terrific! There is no better source of information about the campus.

We appreciate your business and thank you for sharing your review with other travelers. I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Laurel, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed one night at The Inn at Virginia Tech for an Open House the following day. The place is beautiful! Our room had two double size beds, so, kind of small for a family of four, the room was clean, up to date, and all around nice. The location to Virginia Tech is second to none, as you are right on the campus!! We did not eat at the hotel, although it looked like there were plenty of guest that did. We ate at Poor Billy's in town. (nice food, a little pricey, but very good portions). Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting VA Tech. They even have a shuttle to take you over to the campus proper, we chose to walk because it was such a nice day. The hotel is also located right across the street from a good size shopping area which includes a supermarket and a Panera Bread. (i.e. walking distance for a bottle of wine!). Nice over all place. There was a gym, although we did not get to use it.

Room Tip: ask for something bigger than two double beds if you have a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear FamilyofFourTravelers10,

Thank you for sharing the review of your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. Our location is convenient to the campus and to the University City Boulevard shopping area. I'm glad this worked well for you and your family.

If your travels bring you back to Blacksburg, we hope you will elect to stay with us again.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were at Virginia Tech for the TEDx and stayed here. Very nice facility and well appointed and comfortable room. Really 3.5 star but you won't be disappointed. The location was great for VT access. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was fine and made to order omelettes were very good. Worth the tiny bit extra than the national chains.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Savoy 555,

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit for TEDx. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of our location. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

After looking at all the hotels in the town of Blacksburg, Va, we finally decided to go to The Inn at VT and were thrilled that we did. The front desk staff were so warm and friendly and genuinely cared. It felt great! Thank you! The room was great: so clean and beds were very comfortable. They had the exact college game on their tv that we were hoping to be able to catch' it was perfect. If my son ends up at VT, my first choice will always be the Inn at VT.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear IslandPug,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. As the only hotel on the campus, our location is perfect for families visiting their students or those attending events at the university. We have many students on our staff, too, and they are always eager to share information about Virginia Tech and the community.

We look forward to seeing you again if your student elects to return to Virginia Tech.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I took a short vacation in the mountains of southwest Virginia this past spring. We stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, helping us with our luggage and giving us information on several attractions in the area that we weren't familiar with. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear John L.:

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech during your recent visit to Blacksburg and the New River Valley. This is a beautiful area with many activities and attractions available.

We appreciate your business and hope we will see you again if your travels bring you back to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed here recently while touring the VT campus. The inn is stunning - lots of stone work but it still feels warm and cozy. The front desk attendant was sweet and helpful - working as an intern from VT. Our room was clean with a pretty view. My husband and I, not watching the clock, walked into the dining room for breakfast just as they were cleaning up. Instead of turning us away, the waitress walked into the buffet area and asked them to keep things stocked for us until we got our fill. When they wanted to clean up, she gave us to-go containers for any seconds we might want to munch on in our room. We truly appreciated that service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear MomofBandG:

Thank you for sharing these notes regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm glad our staff was able to take good care of you during your visit.

We hope to see you again on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.