We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homecoming Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center to your Saves list
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Blacksburg
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Homecoming Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just came back from four nights at The Inn at VA Tech. It was his 50th reunion during homecoming weekend. I loved the hotel and will stay there again if they change the beds. We had a king that was horrible. It was a flat, hard mattress rimmed with a metal band. Every time my husband moved, I was bounced around. Nether of us slept well. I actually did better sleeping in a chair. The only other complaint I had is minor; the wireless internet in the room did not reach through out the room. They had a desk and a chair with ottoman near the window but the internet signal did not reach that far out. They did have plenty of jacks to plug stuff in. The service was perfect throughout the facility and so was the food. Our package included breakfasts, some lunch and a dinner banquet. The banquet food was excellent. Our last 2 days we ate their breakfast buffet for $11, and it was really good. I liked their healthy food choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a better bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for staying at The Inn at Virginia Tech for your recent visit. it was great to hear that you enjoyed the Homecoming events and dining experiences at our hotel.

I am pleased to tell you that we will be completing renovations early next year to include all new bedding and mini-refrigerators in every room. We hope you will return to see the results of our improvement efforts.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    68
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
100
34
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LAWRENCEVILLE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

While traveling and needing to make an overnight stop, we called about 3 hours ahead to Hotwire to book a 3 star hotel room with great user ratings under its blind hot deal program. When given profiles of available properties, we came to terms on an inexpensive offering with 100% positive ratings. After our credit card was charged, Hotwire gave us the name and address of the property. The Inn at Virginia Tech. Never heard of it. The only minor negative was the distance from I-81 (maybe 9 miles). The pluses were many and substantial. When we drove to the address, were were surprised to discover it sitting on the beautiful campus of Virginia Tech. University owned, it is relatively new (we surmised brand new due to its condition) finely decorated and richly appointed. Complete with beautiful restaurant (we didn't patronize it), comfortable, rooms and attentive staff, we couldn't believe it was available to the general public. It was built for use as a convention and conference center. In short, if you're even in need of a room in the Christiansburg/Blacksburg area, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ron:

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. At times, we do hear from people that are surprised the hotel is available to the public.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you to Blacksburg.

Yours truly.
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

2nd stay now....
I'll keep it to the point:

Pros: close, convenient, predictable, parking, shuttle and classy.
Cons: Wi-Fi is low-fi, rooms facing sunset can be warm, no free snacks or breakfast.
4 stars is due to value (no added perks) and not-so-spectacular bar/restaurant.

Amazing, accommodating staff. Nice, quiet rooms with a sense of classy, clean, predictable comfort. Nothing second rate or funky in the rooms or halls or parking or anywhere. The Wi-Fi is very hard to connect (in both locations tested so far) and very slow due to low signal propagation. The wired internet is just fine thank you--the cat5 cable in the room was bad however. Bring your own portable router and provide internet for all your guests/devices. (It is possible to connect to VT.edu net on Wi-Fi). Parking passes are only good for the hotel parking lot. You'll still need visitor passes if you need them to park on campus or use shuttle.

Restaurant:
Only eaten here once... That said, the restaurant was also predictable: a bit stuffy, food was a little overpriced and a little unimpressive. Good ideas, just not executed very well. Don't get me wrong, it'll do in a pinch, but wouldn't be my first choice. On a campus with the best food in the nation, I expected slightly more. Bar advertises "flights of bourbon or scotch." Out of the three choices, one was "no longer on the menu" (bad), one was "your choice of bourbons" (good) and one was “a single brand of scotches—no choice of selection” (bad). I think you can work on promoting the bar a little better than that. We chose to pass...

Finally: Rooms are almost impossible to get on busy weekends--anywhere near Blacksburg. So, if you want a room--book very, very, very early. It's definitely worth paying just a bit more in order to avoid staying in a worn-out super-* motel in Troutville/Salem etc... and you know what you’re getting here--for the short period of time that you'll probably stay in the room!!

Try it, you'll like it!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing sunset can be warm. Rooms near elevators--you know. If you need Wi-Fi, check signal in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Taterhed:

Thank you for sharing the comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We know that travelers appreciate the opportunity to see what others have to say about our property.

We are working with Virginia Tech's Network Services department to improve the WiFi system. I'm sorry it was a challenge for you during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangerville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed at The Inn this past weekend for the Hokie Half and 5k in Blacksburg. The accomodations were beautiful and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. I would stay at The Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Shay:

Thank you for staying at the Inn at Virginia Tech during your visit for the Hokie Half Marathon and 5k. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed the day's events..

Thank you also for sharing the nice comments about your stay. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great experience. Stayed here multiple times and is the best spot for visiting VT and especially if it is a home football game. One you have a great parking spot included ($15 savings) and there is no 2 night minimum stay, which is probably the only one inside of 20 miles.

Always a friendly staff and great value for breakfast, especially for kids only $6 for the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Bpaliotti,

Thank you for the nice comments about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. I'm sure you enjoyed watching the Hokies' big win over Western Carolina.

The weekend of your stay was a bit unusual for Blacksburg. The interest in this particular game was lower than most so our availability was also greater than usual. We normally require a two-night stay for football weekends, as well.

Thanks again for posting your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've stayed at the Inn several times and it has always been a very enjoyable experience. The hotel staff is very friendly and go out of there way to see to your every need. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. And the food at Preston's is very good!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear FishHead,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of a recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech. We appreciate your business and we were pleased to read the notes about your visit.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my third visit to the Inn, and it's always a very nice experience. The hotel is in great shape, with nice-sized clean rooms and comfortable beds. It's on campus so you can't get any closer. The grounds are immaculate - just like campus'. I love the breakfast buffet on Saturdays for $10.95 with everything - including omelets-made-to order. (Note that Sunday's brunch buffet is more expensive, so check that out before you plan to partake. I haven't been to one.) I've even eaten dinner here once and had an excellent tuna steak. Staff is always cheerful and easy to work with. This is my first choice in Blacksburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Janet Lynn,

Thank you for sharing the notes about your recent stay at The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your visits to Preston's Restaurant.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you on a future visit to Blacksburg.

Yours truly,
Tom Shaver
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center

Address: 901 Prices Fork Rd, Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Blacksburg
#2 Business Hotel in Blacksburg
#3 Family Hotel in Blacksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center is the only hotel situated on the campus of Virginia Tech and is the perfect destination to explore all that Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, and Montgomery County have to offer. Preston's Restaurant features fresh, locally-sourced foods and the Continental Divide Lounge features an eclectic wine list and premium spirits. As the largest hotel and conference center in Blacksburg, we offer nearly 24,000 square feet of conference space, including a 700-seat ballroom, 10 conference rooms, and 147 hotel rooms and suites. This is one of the premier facilities in the mid-Atlantic region. For conferences, events, or leisure, come experience the hospitality, luxury, and latest innovations in beautiful southwest Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Hotel Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech And Skelton Conference Center
Hotel At Virginia Tech
At Virginia Tech Blacksburg
The Inn At Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center Blacksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.